Been A While

Oh hey there.

Been a while huh?

My life in the past 3 months has been exceptionally…. exceptional.

To put it simply, since we last chatted on… August 27 (motherofgod it’s been a while) life has included:

  • weddings
  • bachelorette parties
  • engagement parties
  • birthdays
  • Fleet Week
  • America’s Cup
  • SF Giants playoff games
  • pilates
  • running
  • work, work, work

Understand why I’ve been a little MIA?

But let’s focus on the running thing.

Leading into September I was feeling seriously overwhelmed with CIM training and the big goal that I had set for myself. I know myself well enough to know that if I put my mind to something I will not give up until I achieve said goal. My will power is freakishly strong and once I decide I’m doing something… I do it. No questions asked.

That being said, my days were frequently flirting with the 12-hour number (between commuting, work, commuting) and adding in an hour or so of running was leading me exhausted – physically, mentally and emotionally.

I started to re-think things.

After a lot of back and forth I decided not to run CIM this year. I also decided to run the Nike Women’s Half instead of the full, and to run the Healdsburg and US Half Marathons in October and November respectively.

The way I saw it, a Boston Qualifying time could happen in 2013 – when my job wasn’t so new, when I was more settled into a work schedule, and quite frankly when I could sign up for a race that I haven’t done before. Chicago and/or New York perhaps?

I started to mix in some biking with my running, continued to take pilates, and was hitting solid 8:20/mile paces on all of my runs. I felt fantastic.

Insert cruel irony here.

After an 8 mile trail run with Jaime a couple of weeks ago I noticed a nagging pain in my foot whenever I tried to run. Being a “smart runner” (HA) I listened and took it easy on mileage the 2 weeks leading up to the Nike Women’s Half Marathon. I biked, I ran a total of 9 miles (sloooooow) the week before the half, and rested all day the day before.

I did everything right. So why is it now Tuesday, I’m having serious problems WALKING, my ankle is swollen, and I have an appointment with a sports doctor (is that what we call them?) for x-rays tomorrow to make sure I don’t have a stress fracture?

This is what happy fun running looks like (Giants Half Marathon this past September… that recap is also coming I PROMISE):

That is not how I’m feeling right now. It’s now been 2 days of no running and I’m literally ITCHING for a long run. Like I would pay someone large sums of money to magically fix my foot so I can run. Give away my entire Lululemon wardrobe to be able to run.

Okayyy that was drastic and untrue. I would never do that. Then what would I run in?

To come? Giants Race Recap, Nike Women’s Race Recap, and um… do I have a stress fracture in my foot recap.

Thanks for hanging in there with me. I’ve been toying with changing the name of this blog to reflect more of my life aside from running (biking! pilates! wine! SF! food! etc!) and that’s going to happen at some point. (Full disclosure when I figure out how to use the internet in all the tech savvy ways you’re supposed to know about when you have a blog.)

(Also if you’re able to go for a run today do it so I can live vicariously through you. Seriously. I won’t even be jealous. I’ll just be happy that SOMEONE IS RUNNING while I’m sitting on the stationary bike reading Marathon by Hal Higdon and pretending my sobbing tears are just sweat.)

I’m kidding. Kind of.

Happy Tuesday!

One thought on “Been A While

Leave a Reply

