Treadmill Half-Marathon

I really got after it last week. (Promise I’ll have a training recap up tomorrow!)

After being wounded on Monday’s run, and several applications of Neosporin, I woke up Tuesday morning at 5:45am feeling about 90%.

Naturally I deemed 90% damn good enough to hit 6am Pilates- and with the exception of some knee twisting, I was on-the-ball for the entire class. True I got hit with a few shots, but I was not longer walking with a limp (See what I did there 50 Cent?) and therefore the next appropriate thought was towards my long run of the week.

Last week’s long run jumped up to 13 miles, and I was planning to do it Saturday morning. Then boyfriend’s mom invited us to the Giants game Saturday afternoon. I know myself well enough to know that after a long run I’m pretty much deemed useless for the following 12 hours and prefer to lay in a stationary position on the couch while stuffing my face with whatever available gluten-free carb is within reach.

Then my company announced a celebration party on Friday evening (a certain acquisition just went through and it’s nice to celebrate!)

It was becoming increasingly clear to me that getting up at 7am to run 13 miles and then afterwards having to able to function in public on Saturday just wasn’t going to happen.

It’s also becoming increasingly clear to me that after driving home for an hour, no exercise will ever happen so I force myself to workout at the gym at work instead.

I did what any sane person would do.

I took to iTunes, rented The Hunger Games on our iPad, trekked to the gym at 5pm on Tuesday, and hopped onto the treadmill.

I set the speed to 6.8 mph (8:49/pace) and pressed play.

And 1 hour and 50 minutes later, after completing 13 miles, I (in so many words) hopped off the treadmill. I will also add that I was ready to eat my arm off I was so hungry.

But none-the-less I had completed my long run. And after a day of 6am pilates, a commute, and a full day at work. I won’t say that it was the best long run I’ve ever done, or even that it was particularly enjoyable (it wasn’t, even while watching Katniss kick some ass), but I did it, and I feel stronger for it. Plus, I did it in just about the exact same time as my fastest half-marathon, which I was pretty darn happy about after just 3 weeks of marathon training (and several nights of, *ahem* beverage consumption at weddings).

My point here is that yes running on the treadmill is (generally) less-than-ideal for most runners. I’m probably of the 1% that actually like it because I can zone out on my Kindle and be a freak of nature while reading a novel. But it is useful for building up mental stamina and powering through boredom. And compared to running on a hamster wheel, no matter what race you’re training for will be a lot more exciting.

Besides that mental strength really comes in hand right around mile 22 in the marathon. Trust me on this one. I started talking to myself at that point telling myself that “You have 30 minutes of running left. Modern Family is 30 minutes. You always whine and complain about how fast that goes by. JUST KEEP GOING.”

Hope your week is off to a great start!

