Pilates, Run, Eat, Bake

Happy Thursday! Or in my case – FRIDAY! 🙂

Sorry I’ll stop rubbing it in now.

Boyfriend and I are heading up to Tahoe with a few friends for a weekend of sun, Chambers punch, hiking, lake-ing, and relaxation. Can’t even wait.

This morning started out, once again, in the 5am hour.

After another vicious mosquito attack (boyfriend was the victim this time) around 3am (seriously how are they getting into our apartment?! And where is it hiding exactly?), the 5:15 alarm came way, way too quickly.

I hustled to get to the studio, taught the 6:20 and 7:10am class, and then hustled right home to inhale my breakfast. Breakfast was a standard yogurt bowl (yogurt, berries, almond butter, granola)… with a twist.

Homemade Cinnamon Roll Granola.

Cassie you are a genius.

I followed the recipe almost exactly – the only change I made was subbing the 3T of oil for 3T of unsweetened applesauce. Honestly I couldn’t tell a difference. Oh also, I didn’t make the glaze, but chalk that up to pure laziness.

I immediately inhaled about 3 handfuls upon taking it out of the oven and I was more than a little generous in dishing it out into my yogurt bowl this morning.

Joking. But I definitely got heavy handed.

After breakfast, and dropping boyfriend at work (I try to spare him the horrors of public transportation whenever possible), I headed to the gym with the intention of running give or take 5 miles. I finished Gone Girl (excellent book, not a fan of the ending), around mile 4, and started By Invitation Only, about the founders of Gilt Groupe. SO GOOD SO FAR. Did you know they both went to Harvard undergrad and Harvard Business School? And that one of them had a hand in launching/starting eBay Canada and eBay Motors? I most definitely did not.

The book is so good that I stayed on the treadmill for 6 more miles. Ending just shy of the 90 minute mark with 10 miles under my belt. 30 miles thus far for the week. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get any miles in while in Tahoe so I wanted to get to at least 30 miles before we head up. I figure I can maybe squeeze in an hour run when we get home on Sunday, but if not… we’ll just consider this a step-back week. 😉

I met boyfriend and the Whole Foods hot bar for lunch, and then ran some errands before coming home and making Brown Butter White Chocolate Pretzel Blondies (again Cassie you are brilliant) to bring up to Tahoe with us.

These are in no way healthy, nor are they in any way gluten-free. But they smell so darn good, I’ll be sacrificing a wee bit of gluten to enjoy one (or four) of these babies over the weekend.

Whole Foods Finds

It’s baaaaack! If you haven’t checked out the previous finds you can do so here and here.

While at Whole Foods today… a few new discoveries happened.

Agave Sticks

Remember honey sticks when you were younger? Think those… only filled with agave. For under $2. Yes please.

(And yes, they do also carry honey sticks, and yes they taste just like they did when you were 11 years old.)

Annie’s Fruit Snacks

I’ll be real – this is the third box/flavor we’ve gone through. These things are so freaking good. It all started when I started taking gummy vitamins (do not judge me), and I started sneaking ~3 a day instead of the recommended 2. (And going against the recommendation of “do not take more than advised”. Woops.)

Boyfriend brought home the all-natural, organic, sweetened with fruit juice fruit snacks.

And we’ve never looked back.

With that, I’m off to teach one last class of the day then head up to Tahoe!

Have a lovely weekend everyone 🙂

6 thoughts on “Pilates, Run, Eat, Bake

    • You are officially my go-to food blog- everything is amazing! That granola in unreal! I made and brought some of the brown butter white chocolate pretzel blondies (after I had about 4) to the Pilates studio I teach at and they were INHALED!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

