French Toast Win.

We need to talk about breakfast.

I MEAN… WOW.

To backtrack, my morning started at 5:15am, when my alarm started screaming at me. I thought vicious thoughts about throwing my phone straight out the window, when I realized that wouldn’t go over well… for anyone. Especially me since I’d then be phone-less, and have to beg AT&T for my unlimited data plan back. I recently took on the 6 and 7am classes on Wednesday mornings (why does this actually sound fun to me? I swear to GOD I’m not even joking, which is the sad part), so after a half-assed attempt at snoozing for 3 minutes, I grudgingly got up.

I miraculously found clothes that matched, threw on a long-sleeve shirt (heyyyyyo 60 degree SF morning!) and stumbled into the kitchen to make coffee. Starbucks Via. Gross. I promise I only made it because my brain lacked the clarity, intelligence, and general everything-ness before 6am to make sense of the French Press.

Then I took the bus. 4 blocks. To the studio. Speed-walking was just not going to happen at 5:36am. Even I have my limits.

I taught for 2 hours – lots of lunging, squatting, ab-ing, shoulder pressing, bicep curling, leg circling, and quick bursts of cardio… and everyone left sweaty and smiley. Success.

After teaching, I obviously needed my latest obsession -iced coffee, soy milk, and cinnamon (Jaime this is all your fault) and it was clearly a coincidence that I happened to be right by a La Boulange. Would you look at that.

So onto that breakfast.

I was craving about 47 different things this morning (peanut butter, greek yogurt, toast, cinnamon, raspberries, coconut) when I decided I was going to have my cake and eat it too.

Holy Frenchtoast.

I used two slices of Udi’s Gluten Free Multi-Grain bread, and coated it in a mixture consisting of one egg, milk, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and vanilla extract.

Then coated it raw unsweetened coconut. (Mother of GOD it’s good).

Cook on the stove-top, adding an extra pinch of coconut to the side to get it nice and toasty.

Topped the bread slices of heaven with Chocolate PB2, fresh raspberries, Greek yogurt (I used 0% Fage), and the toasted coconut.

ohmygod.

I will now be making this every morning of my life.

Satisfying, salty, sweet, delicious. 

And HEALTHY! No added sugar, lots of protein, some carbs, and a ton of flavor. Is coconut healthy? According to me it is. Just go with it.

And of course since there was a little Greek yogurt, toasted coconut and PB2 left… it too got consumed. With some blueberries picked from my parents backyard.

Breakfast of champions.

Then I made Cinnamon Roll Granola. Someone stop me.

And then I ran 3 miles under the blazing (feels so freaking good) sun.

Balance right? 🙂

Have a great Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “French Toast Win.

  1. Omg I am OFFICIALLY jealous! This looks like the most perfect breakfast– I love all the components! And coincidentally have a huge bag of unsweetened coconut that is begging to be used up…guess I better make this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

