The Weekend, Briefly

Hello hello. Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! What was the best part?

Ours started off pretty relaxing – pizza, beer and movies. (Let it be known I made it about 17 minutes into the movie before I was out like a light on the couch.) We picked up a 4-pack (apparently they make those?) of gluten-free beer, and I have to say, I was a fan. If you try it – don’t go into it thinking it’s going to taste as prefect as a Corona- because it won’t. At all. But for a beer made with zero wheat? I’d buy the (so very overpriced) 4-pack again!

What was not GF? The pizza. We had a Whole Wheat Trader Joe’s dough, and I didn’t feel like making a seperate trip for some GF dough. So I ate it. (Also let it be known this was my absolute, hands-down, best homemade pizza of my career.) The key (we think) was letting the dough sit out for an hour, using a 4-cheese blend, and spreading pesto on the crust. Perfection my friends.

My taste buds were all “YEAH! Gluten! This crust is so darn good”, and my stomach was like “Eff you, I will destroy you tomorrow”. The taste buds won the battle, but the stomach won the war. I’ll just leave it at that.

Saturday morning started early with Jaime on our favorite 7.5 trail loop (the weather was gorgeous in SF that day), and then boyfriend and I helped his mom move some boxes (my shoulders were feeling it the next day!), walked to Crissy Field for a graduation BBQ (congrats Nurse April!), and I, shockingly enough, crashed out on the couch around 10pm.

Yesterday we slept in, I taught two classes (hope you people are sore today!) and then we headed to the ‘burbs to celebrate my dad with some US Open/NBA Finals/Red Sox game viewing.

But I should add there were not one, but two perfect pups at the studio this morning.

We enjoyed a grilled father’s day spread – grilled corn, tri-tip, wild salmon, and a spinach/strawberry/almond/goat cheese salad with a homemade strawberry dressing. I scraped my plate clean it was so darn good. Well done (as always!) mom.

No trip home is complete without a reference/mention/viewing of/talking about the Red Sox.

Speaking of teaching – I LOVE IT. Seriously, I look forward to my classes. I love putting together choreography, and leading people through a kick-ass workout. I can’t wait for my classes this week.

Which are:

Thursday AM – 6:20, 7:10 (there are showers/blowdryers at the studio if you want to come in before work and head to work straight after!)

Sunday AM- 11am, 12pm – Marina

Come in for a class!

Run

This morning I headed to the gym and ran 11 miles at an 8:20 average pace.  (I had 2 People Magazines to get through, and a very big interest in both Drew Barrymore and Matthew McConaghey’s weddings. Also it appears that Reese Witherspoon is the most popular person in Hollywood since she got the invites to both of these festivities. In case you’re wondering yes I do ponder things like this. In your face Ryan Phillipe).

I felt fantastic. I ran the first few miles at an 8:34 pace and then once I was warmed up, I felt confident and strong… so I decided to push my limits a bit. I ran the last mile and a half at 8:03 and bumped the last quarter-mile to a 7:44 pace. I swear my legs have probably been able to do this all along and it really was my stubborn, you-can’t-run-fast mind that was holding me back. Push your limits friends… you are capable of more than you think. Maybe it feels uncomfortable (and yes, it probably will at least the first couple of times), but once you feel everything begin to click and fall into place – the overwhelming feeling of satisfaction, and that “I DID IT” is more-than-worth any excess huffing and puffing and “holy sh!t this pace hurts and I want to slow down to make it more comfortable.”

Just try it. (Then tell me how it went – I’m right there with you… telling my mind to STFU so my legs can just run.)

At the end of my run I still felt strong, and my legs definitely had something left in them. I decided not to push it, since I want to run hard and strong all week, and to leave it at that. Still though, I couldn’t help but be both impressed/proud of myself for holding a pace I never would have imagined I could hold… for 11 miles. Watch your back CIM.

On the way home, “You Gotta Be” by Desree came on the radio. Am I the only one that loved the movie “The Object of My Affection” starring Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd and thinks of that movie every time I hear that song?

Also the little girl who plays Jennifer Aniston’s daughter/sings the song? Haley Dunphee from Modern Family. Tell me that didn’t just blow your mind. (Link to the video is here)

Anyway.

I refueled after my run with one of my homemade veggie burgers on brown rice bread (dense consistency but I actually really liked it toasted with goat cheese!), and my favorite salad ever – Trader Joe’s Super Spinach. Highly recommended for an on-the-go, bring-to-work lunch. Or if you just like convenience. Like me. It’s got spinach, pumpkin seeds, edamame, garbanzo beans, dried cranberries, shredded carrots (like so thin you don’t know they’re there), and quinoa with a seriously addictive ginger carrot miso dressing. Oh it also has cherry tomatoes but I (obviously) pick those out and forget they exist.

Hit the spot.

I don’t teach today so I took the afternoon to clean the entire apartment top-to-bottom (I contemplated eating my snack off the floors they are sparkling), run errands, and organize myself for the week ahead. I teach Thurs-Sunday this week, and I know it’s going to get busy.

Hope you had a great weekend!

Do you have any Father’s Day traditions?

Did you race this weekend? Workout? What’d you do?

Ever try gluten-free beer?

3 thoughts on “The Weekend, Briefly

  1. hehe we have the same messages in our post today!
    yahhh for teaching spin…I would love to teach too!
    I raced and did a LR this weekend, I can’t believe you can read magazines while running!
    I hope your week is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

  2. I think I just got a little too excited that I realized you don’t like those tomatos things either. I am trying. But failing. Failing also to show up at Pilates! Work has been crazy but I am crossing my fingers for Thursday!

  3. Ohh your mom put together a fabulous Father’s day spread! Looks like a great, relaxing weekend overall! I’m glad I’m no the only one who thinks about celeb news this much- I was pretty impressed that Reese got invites to both weddings, but then again, she seems so sweet that who wouldn’t love her?! And that is my fave salad from TJs too! It is almost always sold out so when I see it I snatch it up! I too pick off the cherry tomatoes immediately!

Leave a Reply

