Something Good This Way Comes

Happy Tuesday! Hope your week is starting off well. SF is still in the middle of this freak heat-wave and I’m not complaining. I love it! Let’s just hope it sticks around a while.

If you’ve been wondering why I’ve suddenly had all this time to do Pilates and run and cook and noticed my “occupation” change on Facebook recently, I may as well officially tell you…

I quit my job a month ago.

I had been tossing the idea around for quite a while as I wasn’t completely happy and passionate about what I was doing. I found myself sticking around because I felt like it was something I should be doing.

But why? I found that my work-self was becoming further and further away from the person that I know and love myself to be. I wasn’t my normal happy-go-lucky, optimistic, spontaneous, outgoing, funny self anymore. So I decided that when you stop enjoying what you are spending most of your time doing, it’s time to stop doing it and find something else.

I knew that I had to start doing something I could see myself doing for the long-term. Whether part-time or full-time. Something that would challenge me every day, something that would allow me to cultivate relationships and friendships with people on a daily basis. Something that would allow me to help others the way so many people have helped me along. Something that I loved to do.

Over the past year or so, I feel like I’ve really gotten to know myself, and know where my passions and interests lie. I’ve always been an athlete and have always been endlessly passionate and interested in fitness and nutrition.

It’s become pretty apparent that my interests lie in writing, communications, dogs (obviously), fitness and nutrition. I’m genuinely excited by it. Why not pursue something I actually love and want to learn more about as a career?

This little blog has allowed me to start writing again, connect with a fantastic audience, and honestly, I really love it. Thank you to each and every one of you that reads this blog – it means the word to me.

Pilates has allowed me to change my body, feel strong and confident, and connect with all types of like-minded people. Learning about food and how it affects the way my body performs in endurance sports is endlessly fascinating. So in addition to my career change, I’m also going to be taking classes to work towards becoming a nutritionist at some point. (More on that in a later post!) I want to help people change their bodies and their lives from the inside and the outside.

I want people to be strong, confident, healthy and live their best life. I want people to make want to fuel their bodies with nutritious and healthy foods so that they can perform their best each and every day no matter what is on the day’s agenda. I want to make people sweat! 

So after a year of taking class 3-4 times a week, 6 months of 120 hours of classroom lecture, a written exam, a practical exam, countless practice teaching hours…

I OFFICIALLY START TEACHING PILATES TODAY.

And I couldn’t be more excited.

The studio I’ll be teaching at is amazing. I’ve been taking classes there for a year and I’m constantly still being challenged, still waking up sore the next day, and still feeling like I’m working my muscles to near-failure. I love the feeling.

They have two locations in SF (Financial and Marina) and offer Barre, TRX and Pilates classes and I can promise that you will sweat no matter which class you choose to take. (Obviously I’m a little partial to Pilates.) If you’re in NYC there are several locations there too and the studios look gorgeous!

These classes will work your core, legs, booty, arms, shoulders, back and chest like never before, and even add a little cardio to really scorch calories. (You can check out my Road to Pilates post here for more benefits of the reformer.)
I would genuinely love to have anyone that reads this little blog (or anyone you know!) in one of my classes. I promise to make you sweat! You can shoot me an email at runningonhungry@gmail.com, a direct message on Twitter, a Facebook wall post (you can like Running on Hungry here if you haven’t yet) a carrier puppy (pigeons freak me out, I’d rather have a puppy on my doorstep with a letter), a telegram, etc.
Let me know if you have any questions or if you’re interested in taking a class! I was beyond intimidated of the reformer but I promise it’s easy to pick up (not literally, the things are really heavy) and you’ll feel comfortable on it in a matter of 1-2 classes.
With that, it’s time for a (very) late lunch. Hope you all have a wonderful afternoon/evening!
12 thoughts on “Something Good This Way Comes

  1. Great post! Glad to hear you are doing what makes you and others healthier and happier! Happy first day! I will definitely be in soon!!

  2. A major career change can be overwhelming and difficult, but it’s so great (and important!) that you realize how your work life is affecting you. In the past, I have learned that I do not give my best effort when I am not passionate about something and I don’t like that–I always want to represent myself in the best way possible. Best of luck with everything! I’m booking my flight to SF now! 😉

  3. Pingback: A Little of This, A Little of That | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

