The Accidental Tempo

Happy Tuesday everyone! Hope your day started out well, and any lingering cases of the Mondays is long gone!

I’ve mentioned that lately that I’ve been running faster. Like seriously faster. Throwing down 8:20’s like it ain’t no thing. (I promise I will never again say the words ‘ain’t no thing’. I’m disgusted with myself for even typing it once.)

It could be my wonderful/amazing/heavenly Brooks Pure Flows (seriously these are the shoes of miracles). It could be that I’m dedicating a lot of time to building up my base mileage. It could be that I’ve never been less stressed out. Or that I’ve 100% cleaned up my diet. And limited my booze. Or upped Pilates to 4 times a week. It could be any of those things.

All I know is that I like it. A lot.

Because otherwise there is no way in hell I would ever see negative splits like these.

Seriously this tempo run is what dreams are made of.

Quite frankly where do I come off negative splitting a 5-mile run with crowds of people everywhere, no food in my belly and roughly 6 hours of sleep? I do not understand.

This run was meant to be an “easy” 5 miles. I had run 7 miles the day before at an 8:20 pace, and I just wanted to move my legs and get some fresh air.

I, for the life of me, have no idea how this happened. It wasn’t planned. It wasn’t on purpose. I didn’t even glance at my watch.

Perhaps that’s the secret? Run for feel. Run like you mean it. Run without a purpose?

Whatever it is, I’ll take it. I’m feeling confident going into Week 4 of base-building and more excited than ever to start CIM training. I want to sub-3:35 in December. I’m willing to put in the work to make it happen. I will rest, ice, stretch, and compression the crap out of my legs. To see the hard work already paying off is a huge confidence booster and another reminder that when you’re willing to work for something – you can achieve it. (In this case “it” will refer to getting faster. That’s about all I’ve achieved thus far running-wise this year.)

In going with that thought, I promptly refueled with a protein smoothie consisting of original almond milk, spinach, frozen mango, vanilla Vega protein powder, chia seeds, and cinnamon.

Oh yes, that would be Panda Puffs (tastes like PB flavored, Gluten-Free Kix – amazing) on the top and the bottom of the glass. You think you’re all done and BOOM – more cereal.

I ran out of protein powder like three weeks ago, and have been experimenting with different ones ever since. I think we found a winner.

Vega performance protein in Vanilla. So, so good.

And hello 25g of plant-based, gluten-free protein! Welcome to my life.

Last week, I had another solid week of running, ending with a 10K race (recap to come tomorrow). This week I’m upping the mileage (but just by a couple of miles) and hopefully ending around 37-38. I want to build to 40 mile weeks over the next couple of weeks so come mid-July I’m ready to go for actual training.

Sunshine! Flowers! Solid base-building weeks!

With that I’m off to teach a practice pilates class… this girl is officially on the schedule next week! Have a great day everyone 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Accidental Tempo

  1. This past winter / spring, I had a breakthrough in my running and your post reminds me of it. It’s like one day I woke up, went out for a run, and realized that I was capable of running much faster than I had been running for the last three months. Though unlocking your running potential is certainly a physical challenge, there’s a big mental obstacle there as well: the nagging doubt of whether you are even capable of it.

    But once you get over it and realize you can throw down a 7:26 fifth mile, it can unleash a huge change in your training, propelling you towards new heights. Keep it up!

    • Thanks Dan! I definitely agree with the mental part of it… I didn’t think I had it in me to run fast but I guess I was very wrong!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

