Gluten-Free Berry Cobbler

Ever since Mother’s Day Brunch at AQ, I’ve had this thing for Berry Cobblers.

At AQ they had a $20 3-course prix fixe (yes you read that right, $20 for 3 courses in San Francisco at a James Beard award nominee… if you aren’t already open-table-ing a reservation right now I would get on it) and course numero tres was the world’s best Berry Cobbler… in cute little individual sized cast iron pans no less.

That is not from AQ. That is from my kitchen. But you get the idea.

I proceeded to eat half of boyfriends and half of my moms. And could have gone for more.

A couple of weeks later as I was perusing the hard-hitting news (People Magazine on the iPad) and came across a seemingly simple recipe for berry cobbler from the executive chef at New Orleans’ Gautreau restaurant, Sue Zemanick. I virtually dog-eared it (took a picture of the page) and completely forgot about it.

Then on Monday, boyfriend and I went to my parents house for dinner and my mom had homemade apple crisp for dessert. Fruity, cobblery craving: satisfied.

Yesterday I was at my parents house for the afternoon sun-bathing and lunching with my mom when lo-and-behold she produced the same berry cobbler recipe she had torn out of People Magazine (no folks, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree around here).

FATE!

“Mom, we’re utilizing your 7-times-bigger-than-my-own-tiny apartment-kitchen and we’re making cobbler. Grab the ramekins!”

We followed the recipe exactly, subbing in gluten-free flour and soymilk. Oh also we halved it since my dad and boyfriend aren’t big on the sweets. More for us! 🙂

Gluten Free Berry Cobbler

2 pints strawberries (hulled and halved)

1 pint blueberries

1 c sugar (divided)

1 T cornstarch

3/4 c gluten-free flour

1 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 egg

1/4 c soy milk

1/2 t vanilla

6 T butter (melted)

Preheat over to 375*. In a bowl, combine all berries, 1/3 c plus 2 tsp sugar and cornstarch. Let sit for 10 minutes.

In another bowl mix flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. In a third bowl stir egg, milk, vanilla and butter. Add dry ingredients. Stir well.

Place six 6-oz ramekins on a baking sheet. Divide fruit evenly and top each with a few spoonfuls of batter. Bake 25-30 minutes, until tops are golden brown. Cool 5 minutes then serve.

Since I’m physically (or mentally) incapable of halving a recipe in my head, mom took over the measurements, I took over preparation work. And only made one mistake of pouring the milk right into the “dry” bowl of ingredients when apparently you’re supposed to pour it into the “wet bowl” first, then mix together all at once.

What started as this:

Quickly turned into this:

SO DELICIOUS. 

I naturally had to dig in while it was fresh from the oven and it was unreal. Never would have been able to tell it was gluten-free either.

These would be perfect for a dinner-party or BBQ dessert. So easy to make, beyond flavorful, and full of fresh summer berries. You can use any berries in it – we didn’t have strawberries on hand so instead we used raspberries and blueberries.

Top with some vanilla ice-cream or whipped cream and you’ve got yourself one heck of a dessert! Enjoy! 🙂

One thought on “Gluten-Free Berry Cobbler

  1. Omigosh this looks like such a delicious recipe! How cute that you and your mom both tore it/bookmarked it too– it really was dessert fate! I rarely have cobblers but this one looks especially good! Oh and I’m going to make reservations for AQ asap!

Leave a Reply

