A Long Weekend… of Running and Fireworks

Happy Memorial Day! Be sure to take a moment to think about what this day is truly about – I fully understand that freedom isn’t free, and would like to thank all of the brave men and women who serve our country.

Hope you all had a great weekend full of friends, family, food, and festivities. Also sun and warm weather. San Francisco got the sun part, but respectfully passed on the “warmth” part. Thank goodness for family living in the ‘burbs!

This weekend was both extremely active and relaxing, and I throughly enjoyed it! It was the Golden Gate Bridge’s 75th Birthday. For 75, she looks pretty darn good. The city had a massive celebration planned, ending with the most amazing fireworks display I’ve ever seen.

Absolutely breath-taking. We watched the fireworks with friends up on our roof-deck and I’m pretty sure the entire city had the same idea. I loved looking out over the rooftops and seeing them filled with people enjoying the festivities. Happy 75th you old beauty.

Running wise, it was another solid week of base-building. I took a page from Lindsay’s book, and started keeping a base-building training log since I’m pretty incapable of doing math in my head. When I try to calculate the miles I’ve run, coupled with the miles I need to run, I basically just come up with…. a jumble. Tracking it in a Google Docs spreadsheet is much easier, on everyone involved. But mostly my brain.

This week went a little like this:

Monday – Pilates Reformer Class, 5 miles on the treadmill (8:57 pace)

Tuesday – 7 miles on the treadmill (9:05 pace)

Wednesday – 3.5 miles outside, Pilates Cardio Sculpt class (1 minute cardio intervals, 1 minute Pilates intervals – you will scorch calories this way and keep your heart pumping for an entire hour. I’m hoping to be able to teach this class someday!)

Thursday – 10 mile long run, Pilates Reformer Class

Friday – Pilates Reformer Class

Saturday – 3 miles outside

Sunday – 7 miles treadmill (8:49 pace)

Total Mileage: 35.5

All in all I felt fantastic running this week. I swear I can feel my legs getting stronger. It may all be in my head, but really that’s just fine by me.

Boyfriend and I are off to my parents in the ‘burbs for a BBQ and some sunshine – hope you enjoy the rest of your long weekend!

2 thoughts on “A Long Weekend… of Running and Fireworks

Leave a Reply

