Starting the Day Right – Yogurt Bowls

Good morning! Hope your Tuesday is off to a great start. I started mine off with a couple of mugs of black coffee, a 7-mile treadmill run, and a breakfast favorite – a yogurt bowl.

I love yogurt bowls for breakfast because they’re healthy, satisfying, filling, and totally customizable. The possibilities are endless!

You need 4 main components:

Greek Yogurt: I like to use 0% Plain. It’s a great source of protein, and 1 cup packs a seriously filling punch. The brand honestly doesn’t matter to me. I usually buy Fage because they have the big things of it at Trader Joes but I’ve also had Chobani and the Trader Joe’s brand, and nutritionally speaking, they have the same ingredients/stats… and they all taste the same. The flavored kinds contain double the sugar, and if I’m adding sugar, I want it to be from some delicious add-ins… not already sitting in there.

Crunch: As of late, I use Udi’s Gluten Free Au Natural Granola, but I also have a bag of Good Habit Gluten Free Granola that I can’t wait to break into. You can use literally anything to add some crunch: a crumbled up granola bar, dried unsweetened coconut, almonds, a cookie, cereal, crushed up cinnamon graham crackers – anything.

Nut Butter: I’m a huge fan of adding nut butter to my yogurt bowls because 0% Greek Yogurt can be a little tart and plain on its own. Nut butter also adds extra protein and a healthy serving of fats. My favorites? Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, Trader Joe’s Roasted Almond Butter, and Maranatha Roasted Almond Butter.

Keep the serving size to no more than 2 tablespoons, and you’ll benefit from the nut butter – in terms of both fullness (this will stick with you until lunch!) and health. (Nuts fall into the Monounsaturated fats area, and are known as the “good fats” because they are good for your heart, your cholesterol, and your overall health.)

Fruit: I like to start the day with at least one serving of fruit, and adding fruit to the yogurt bowl sweetens up the tart Greek yogurt, and adds in some natural sugar and antioxidants. I love to add blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, a sliced banana, a chopped up apple (seriously unbelievable with Cinnamon Cheerios). The beauty is you can literally add any fruit and come up with your favorite flavor combinations.

Look at all that delicious, crunchy, Peanut Buttery goodness!

With that I’m off to a Pilates workshop – I’m team-teaching next week and want to make the class the best it can be! I’ll post more details later. 🙂  Have a great Tuesday!

Are you a yogurt bowl fan? What are your favorite mix-ins?

3 thoughts on “Starting the Day Right – Yogurt Bowls

  1. Mmmm! This looks really yummy!!! Thanks for the ideas! I’ve never had a yogurt bowl before 🙂 I think the chopped apple with Cinnamon Cheerios sounds out of this world! Will have to try.

Leave a Reply

