Base Mileage

And just like that another weekend went by far too fast.

There were latte bowls.

There was homemade green juice.

There were the best Gluten-Free cookies I’ve ever had.

There was plenty of fresh salmon at the Farmer’s Market.

And there was the most refreshing drink in history – TJ’s Light Lemonade, fresh Mint leaves from the garden, blueberries

This weekend was full of sun, relaxing, running, good food, catching up on TV, puppies, and lots of family time. Boyfriend headed down to LA to surprise one of his oldest friends for his MBA graduation, and I headed to the burbs for some R&R with the family.

After last weekend’s whirlwind, some downtime and sunbathing was definitely necessary!

Workout wise, I’m really proud of my running and mileage this week, but that being said, I’m never doubling up on Pilates + a long run… ever again. After coming home and making brunch that morning I snoozed on the couch for a couple of hours I was so exhausted.

As far as building my base goes, this was a great week, and I’m hoping to keep the momentum going each week leading up to when training officially starts.

Why is base building so important? This article from Runner’s World is really informative and explains it well:

Consider me a follower. 🙂

As far as workouts went, the week looked like this:

Monday – Pilates class, 3.5 mile Tennessee Valley trail run

Tuesday – 4 mile treadmill run

Wednesday – Pilates class, 7 mile treadmill run

Thursday – Pilates class, 6 mile treadmill run

Friday – Pilates class, 10 mile run

Saturday – Active REST – stroll with mom to farmer’s market/breakfast

Sunday – 6 mile run

Guess who isn’t used to running in 80 degree heat? I’m sorry you had to see this, but it perfectly illustrates just how hot it was outside, and just how not used to running in heat I am. It also illustrates that I should never again attempt a self iPhone portrait. Oh boy.

Total: 36.5 miles

Time to start knocking out my to-do list! Have a great Monday 🙂

How was your weekend?

One thought on “Base Mileage

  1. damn girl you look great!!! i think you take excellent self portraits with ur phone haha bc seriously, you look amazing! all this hard work is definitely paying off..good for u!

Leave a Reply

