Whirlwind Weekend Wrap-up

Happy Monday! I don’t know about you, but this weekend flew by so fast, I (literally) haven’t had a chance to sit back and relax since oh… Thursday. After an indulgent weekend, I was up bright and early for a 7am Pilates class – exactly what I needed to kick off the week! Early morning workouts are here to stay my friends. Also so are my personal favorite days incorporating pilates and a run. Stay tuned.

The past 3 days were a wonderful and action-packed weekend, full of fun, friends, food, wine and amazing weather.

Oh also, this little thing where I PASSED MY WRITTEN AND PRACTICAL PILATES FINAL EXAMS AND I’M NOW OFFICIALLY AN INSTRUCTOR!!!!

But yeah, nothing too exciting or anything. 😉

The weekend started on Thursday, when after about 48 hours of straight Pilates anatomy, mat, reformer, Cadillac and chair (the 4 pilates apparatus’) boyfriend and I met up with boyfriend’s mom and a friend from out-of-town to try A16. It’s constantly on the SF Chronicle’s Top 100 restaurants, and even though it’s not too far from us, we’d never been.

I’m not sure why because it’s so delicious. Seriously Delarosa, time to step up your game. It was a well-needed study break and just a wonderful evening.

(Also checked off another New Years’ Goal to try one new SF restaurant a month).

Friday I was up bright and early to do some last-minute cramming (what are the muscles of the rotator cuff? What the hell is Barbie on the Chair?) and then I was off to the studio to get tested. The written exam took me a little over an hour and I felt pretty confident on it.

Then came the two hours of practice testing. My heart was in my throat the entire time, I was sweating, and talking about a mile a minute. But just like that, mat was over, then Cadillac, then reformer, then chair, then… “Congratulations – you’re done!!”

I’ve never been so damn happy before.

I had to pick up some groceries, and because once I set a goal I feel the need to obsessively stick to it, I first stopped by the gym to get in a few miles, ending the week with 25 miles run to start building my base back up.

I feel like I’m being a complete traitor to my Nike Frees, but the Brooks Pure Flows are fantastic.

Boyfriend and I celebrated by going to Off the Grid – hitting the food trucks for dinner (Kung Fu Tacos and Lima Peruvian Skewers are amazing) before having some friends over to enjoy the evening.

Saturday also began bright and early as I was up to whip up brunch before we set off for the TIburon Wine Festival! One of my very best friends and her fiance were in town and we had a ball. I made my go-to of Mini Mushroom Spinach Quiches… the easiest, healthiest, and most delicious brunch item I’ve ever attempted. Paired with mimosas, bloody marys, and bagels (of the whole wheat and gluten-free variety) and it was a hit!

The Wine Festival was fantastic – for $65 you received a wine glass and a plate and all you can taste wine, as well as all you can eat food… a wonderful deal, perfect weather, and a great time was had by all.

Mother’s Day (and my mom’s birthday!) brought us all to AQ for brunch. AQ is a brand new restaurant in the Mission and it’s amazing. They actually change the entire restaurant’s decor (from the bar to the curtains, to the color the beams are, to the wait-staff’s uniforms) seasonally. The “Spring” decor was beautiful, light, open and airy. Best of all? The Prixe Fixe was $20 per person. Almost unheard of in San Francisco, and especially unheard of for a restaurant that was up for the James Beard Award of Best New Restaurant in the country.

The weekend wrapped up with a relaxing dinner at my parent’s house to celebrate my mom’s birthday. My mom whipped up a panko crusted grilled salmon and grilled asparagus, and I made Iowa Girl Eats’ Sweet Corn and Quinoa Honey Vinaigrette (incredible and so easy) as a side. After a full weekend of friends, family and fun, boyfriend and I headed home late in the evening ready to crash into bed.

Hope yours was just as fun celebrating Mom! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Whirlwind Weekend Wrap-up

  1. Omigosh congrats on passing your tests!!! That’s so exciting!! And your weekend sounds awesome!! I actually haven’t been to A16 either but it’s always on my list of restaurants to check out! And a bunch of my friends went to that wine festival- sounds like a blast! Oh and a $20 prix fix brunch? Sign. Me. Up!

  2. Pingback: Base Mileage | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

