Cleanse – Day 2

Day 2 of the Cleanse has come and gone. This day was a bit rougher than Day 1, and I was definitely craving food more and more. Here’s how it went down:

5:42 am – Pilates. This morning my day started a bit earlier than usual. After running 4 times in the AM last week, I kind of loved the feeling of being completely done by the time I would normally be waking up. Boyfriend had an early conference call this morning, so I did what any sane person would do… I signed up for 6am Pilates.

Yes this picture is from Boston – I feel a bit better taking pictures in a studio I’ll never go to again than I do in my normal studio. Appearances people.

I woke up feeling a little bit hungry, but nothing major, threw on a pair of Wunder Unders and a Cool Racerback (my most favorite Pilates clothing in the world) and a hoodie and sleepwalked to the studio. The class was hard and I’ll be honest I felt really sore. That can be attributed to: running 7 days in a row last week followed by Pilates. Needless to say coffee would have really helped me power through.

9:00 am – Elixir #1 – Blue Green Algae. I’m trying really hard to stick to the schedule Juice to You recommends, but I was really, really ready for my juice this morning. I now realize why “moderate” exercise is recommend but “severe” is not. I also have zero craving for or withdrawal from caffeine. That being said I cannot wait to bounce back into Starbucks on Thursday. I like the taste of espresso. +8 oz of water.

9:30 am – Juice #1 – Alpha Green. By this point I was starving, but after drinking the Alpha Green I felt like I’d had a proper breakfast. My hunger cues were gone, and I felt like my blood sugar was stabilized. I also had no craving for my cup of coffee (I feel like I’m betraying my precious Americanos for saying this). +8oz of water.

10:15 – Herbal (Caffeine Free) Tea – My company stocks Numi Organic Teas, so I grabbed a bag of Rooibos to drink (and warm myself up – it’s deceptively freezing outside today). The cleanse recommends drinking water or herbal caffeine free tea in between juices and this warmed me right up. I also drank 8oz of water.

11:30am – Juice #2 – Lemon Aid. To my surprise I wasn’t starving by the time 11:30 rolled around. I looked at the clock when it was 11:23 and a “It’s time for another juice already?!” thought crossed my mind. Savored every, little, tiny sip of this beauty. SO REFRESHING. Also had 8 oz of water.

1:58pm – Juice #3 – Beta Green. I got to this juice a bit late and I could definitely tell. I was starving. I also decided this is my least favorite and takes me the longest to drink. I’ve also been hit with an intense desire to chew something. It’s probably not helping that I’m staring at pictures of this and this (both of which are getting made on Thursday). Once I drank my juice I felt a LOT better, was completely satisfied (or as satisfied as one can be drinking juice) and my blood sugar was back to normal.

The hunger noises were gone and I felt more focused. The want to chew something (like a homemade pizza or a delicious grilled brown rice tortilla wrap filled with prosciutto, fresh mozzarella, pesto and spinach hasn’t gone away in case you were wondering).

2:15pm – mug of Lemon Chamomile Tea. So cold. Must warm up.

3:30pm – Juice #4 – Coconut Water. Just so damn tasty. I’m sorry for cursing. It just had to be done to prove my point. I feel really light. My clothes feel loose, my stomach feels flat, and I won’t lie to you, it’s always a good feeling. I am however, craving solid food, if nothing else than to enjoy my meals and their flavors.

6:26pm – Juice #5 – Deep Green. My favorite of the green juices. Definitely got to this one a bit late. I knew I shouldn’t but my legs told me otherwise and I went to the gym for a speedy 3 miles (8:49 pace!) after work. Starving after. Thankfully the juice did the trick health-wise, but mentally I still want some chips and hummus, or an apple and almond butter. And don’t even get me started on a homemade pizza.

My mouth is WATERING for Thursday! There are few things worse than finishing a particularly satisfying run and not being able to enjoy a lovely dinner afterwards. Food = culture. I basically can’t stop thinking about food today. I blame the workouts.

7:30pm – Juice #6 – Almond Drink. Is there anything better than ending your day with a (healthified) version of a milkshake? No my friends, there is not. I love this drink. And I will re-create it time and time and time again.

Something I have noticed over the last couple of days? I’m FREEZING. All the time. My Raynauds is in full force. I can’t get warm enough. Clearly this is not the ideal number of calories for a person with my activity level. Do not run tomorrow.

9:44pm – Fall asleep on the couch while bundled up in a blanket, pants, long sleeves and socks. Yes it’s cold in SF but this is taking it to a whole other level. So freaking tired. Running was a terrible idea, and running 8:49’s was even worse.

10:30pm – Shot of Aloe. Down the hatch.

11pm- Crash into bed, pull duvet up to my ears. Sleep in said yoga pants, long sleeve and socks. Tell boyfriend I cannot wait for real food.

Overall Thoughts on Day 2?

I’m definitely tired come the evening, but that may have had something to do with the fact that I went to Pilates and ran a fast 3 miles as well. I’m absolutely freezing at all times. All times. It’s not the best feeling. I do feel really light, and I am satisfied after drinking the juices but it doesn’t stop me from wanting real food. Slept like a baby for a solid 10 hours last night, and feeling much better this morning. Although still so damn cold.

Day 2 complete! Bring on the LAST DAY OF THE CLEANSE!

6 thoughts on “Cleanse – Day 2

  1. great job!! ya it sounds like that was a fair amount of exercise considering you’re not eating much…but you’re hard core so good for u! haha. something about that almond drink sounds kind of awesome..i dont even know what that means but i want some! btw, those bottles are so cute i wanna try!! why do i not live in SF? boo

  2. I can’t believe you got out of bed and were at a class by 6 am. Seriously impressed over here. How interesting that you are feeling so cold on the cleanse– I’ve heard other people say that too! I’m not dying to try the Lemon and Coconut juices! I love me a green juice too but those sound different than what I usually make! Good luck on day 3!!

    • I can’t believe it either! I’m trying to work out in the AM now that it’s light outside! I’m literally FREEZING and have been for like 3 days – very interesting! I think it’s not enough calories. I cannot WAIT for tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

