Cleanse – Day 1

Day 1 of the Cleanse is COMPLETE! Yesterday, I awoke to a very helpful and informative e-mail from Juice To You with instructions on when to take juices, and some helpful tips. Then, like clockwork, Juice To You arrived at my doorstep (literally). The idea is that you drink a pint of juice (6 in total) every 2 hours, with a superfood elixir “shot” (2oz in the morning and 4oz at night) to start and end your day. They recommend you drink water in-between each juice.

Ready… BREAK!

6:47am – While in a deep sleep, I awoke to knocking on the front door. MY JUICE! I didn’t ask questions about how the guy got into my apartment building, I just took my 3 cooler bags from the nice man, and placed them safely in the refrigerator.

7:15am- Downed a pint glass of warm water. (They recommend you squeeze fresh lemon juice in the water but we may or may not have used our last lemon as part of a fish marinade last night.) Note to self: buy lemons.

At this point in my morning, I’ve usually had a cup of black coffee, and this morning I’m seriously craving my caffeinated friend. Try not to think about the fact that we won’t be reunited until Thursday.

9:00am – Elixir #1 – 2oz Blue-Green Algae, followed by a large cup of water. Gag at the name. Tastes surprisingly like almost nothing (and it’s gone in 2 sips). Have no idea what I just chugged so I research.

Blue-green algae is an all-organic, wild-harvested botanical algae. It is considered to be nature’s most beneficial superfood by renowned health authorities.

Benefits include:

  • increases endurance and stamina
  • fortifies the blood
  • lifts and balances mood to reduce stress
  • strengthens bones, teeth, skin, hair, and nails
  • supports brain and nervous system
  • balances blood-sugar levels
  • increases mental focus and concentration
9:30 am – Juice #1 – Alpha Green. Tastes like a normal green juice, and is surprisingly delicious. Hunger levels are normal – I don’t feel hungry, I just feel like I want to CHEW something. Large glass of water follows. (They recommend you drink water in-between juices throughout the day.)
  • celery
  • cucumber
  • sunflower sprouts
  • lemon

11:30am – Juice #2 – Lemon-Aid. SO FREAKING DELICIOUS. It tastes like lemonade with a gingery, spicy kick. I drink it slowly to savor every sip because I want it to last longer. I love this juice. Cup of water follows. At this point it’s just about lunchtime and I’m definitely starting to get a bit hungry. Mentally and Physically I feel great this morning – I completely forgot about my lack of caffeine, and have a lot of energy. Not something I was expecting!

In my very informative e-mail this morning, one of the tips was: “We recommend to keep your exercise regimen at a moderate level, thus not straining yourself.”  Blasphemy I say.I scrapped my planned lunch-hour 6 mile run in favor of a rest day. I figured after 7 days without one, it was probably time. Planning on a light run and Pilates Tuesday, and the same Wednesday.

 

  • Lemon
  • Agave
  • Ginger
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Filtered Water

1:30 pm – Juice #3 – Beta Green. Surprisingly FILLING! I sipped on this for about an hour at my desk and before I knew it, it was almost time for my next juice. You could definitely taste the carrot but I thought it tasted really sweet, delicious, and satisfied any hunger pangs I had going on.

 

  • Cucumber
  • Carrot
  • Spinach
  • Romaine
  • Parsley

3:30 pm – Juice #4 – Coconut Water.

 

OHMYGOD I’ve been missing out. Fresh coconut water tastes nothing like the stuff I convince myself tastes good, but really I choke down for a hangover/post-run benefit. I bet I could even get boyfriend to like this kind. It actually tastes like a coconut!

By this point in the day I’m usually starving and exhausted. I’m totally satisfied with no hunger pangs to speak of. I feel extremely alert, have a lot of energy, and haven’t yawned once this afternoon. I feel fantastic (if not a little cold because my office keeps the temperature in arctic range). I’m also coming off of 7 days of straight running/pilates exercise so typically I’d be really hungry at this point.

5:30 pm – Juice #5 – Deep Green.

Tasted a lot like the other green juice – filling, satisfying, and not at all like a plant.

 

  • Celery
  • Cucumber
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Romaine
  • Parsley
  • Lemon

7:30 pm – Juice # 6 – Almond Drink.

 

  • Raw Almonds
  • Coconut Water
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Himalayan Salt
  • Filtered Water

This tasted like a vanilla-almond-coconut MILKSHAKE. I savored every sip it was so tasty. Juice To You soaks their almonds in water for a full day before grinding them, to stimulate the nuts into sprouting. When a seed sprouts, it is buzzing with  nutrients and enzymes, so sprouting almonds are even healthier than regular almonds.

9pm – Elixir #2 – Aloe (SAY WHAT?)

This shot is designed to hydrate and support digestive function. The combination of aloe vera juice, young coconut water and lime juice hydrates your body while regulating your digestion.

Possible benefits include:

  • improves digestion
  • anti-inflammatory properties
  • hydrates the body
  • strengthens immune system

After my initial panic attack that I was drinking what I use to put on my skin after a sunburn, I took my shot of aloe… and it tasted like lemon water. Not bad in the least. (And it only lasted about 5 seconds).

Overall Thoughts On Day 1?

I never felt hungry. Not a once… and I’m a very hungry person by nature. I felt alert, focused and just overall great all day, which really surprised me. I was expecting headaches, dizziness, hunger pangs, etc and I didn’t experience any of that. I also feel really light, which I’m really enjoying. Typically Mondays are my longest days with work, a workout and then Pilates Teacher Training, and I’m a zombie by 10pm. Yesterday I was full of energy until I got into bed – a welcome change!

I didn’t work out yesterday, and the only time I even wanted to eat wasn’t because I was hungry, it was because I missed the sensation of chewing.

Day 1 Success!

7 thoughts on “Cleanse – Day 1

  1. Love this idea! Since getting a juicer I regularly have ‘juice days’ but I would love to try something a little longer and involving a few more hard to get ingredients. The fact that they get delivered to your doorstep really appeals to me too! Good luck with it! Can’t wait to hear what you think at the end of it!

      • Ah haha yeah I think you deserve a week off at least! 😉 You did so well though! I have cleansed before and I know the willpower it takes to see it through! Every single item of food becomes mouthwatering! Ha! So well done! 🙂

  2. It’s really interesting hearing about this cleanse! I like that all of the juices you are drinking are totally all natural and fresh! The name of the shots scare me a little bit but glad to know they weren’t as bad as their name suggested and that they went down quickly. Interesting that you really never felt hunger pains! Can’t wait to hear about day 2.

  3. This is so interesting!! Ive been hearing so much about these cleanses lately but never really knew how to trust them. Thank you in advance for giving us a real-person’s view on it..I am now thinking about doing one after my half marathon is over! I will be sure to use your NYC suggestion 🙂

    • I’m glad you’re liking the re-caps! I’ve heard such great things about the NYC cleanses… delivery costs to SF from there are just through the roof! Definitely do it once training is over… working out and cleansing do not go hand in hand I’ve learned!

Leave a Reply

