A Run to the Monstah

I officially love running in Boston.(Which is probably a sign I need to get faster when I run marathons so I can someday in my life run the Boston Marathon.)

This morning I set off for what I figured would be another quick loop around Boston. I wasn’t feeling especially ambitious or energetic. I hadn’t had coffee or breakfast. So I started off down the street. The first mile clocked in at 7:37.

Then my little venture quickly turned into THE BEST 7 MILES I’VE EVER RUN.

(I did a 1-mile warm-up while Garmin was locating the satellites)

It also felt like I ran for about 7 minutes.

Something about running in a new city with new sights, and absolutely no idea where you’re going or where you’re headed – it’s so exhilarating and exciting. You see more than you would ever see in a car or a bus, and notice all of the little things and places. I love it.

I set off on the same path as yesterday – through Boston Common and Boston Public Garden. From there I just kept running – down the Commonwealth Mall (where I picked out no less than 11 houses that I will one-day own as my “Boston Vacation Home”. Not to be confused with my Cape Cod home of course.)


I ran down the mall until it ended, and took a left on whichever street that happened to be. I stopped at the corner of Boylston and whatever street I happened to be on and thought the area looked familiar.

I popped into a Fire House and asked someone where Fenway was. They mentioned it was about a mile away so I took off in the direction of everyone’s favorite Green Monster.


To preface, my parents were born and raised in Massachusettes for 30 years. I was born here and lived here for 3 years (none of which I remember), and my extended family is here. Our whole clan is crazy for the Red Sox, so from a young age it was ingrained in me that when you go to Boston, you go to the Cathedral. (AKA Fenway). There really is something so darn cool about that place – so much history. I love it.

After my loop around Fenway, and past the CITGO sign, I headed back towards the hotel to meet my mom for a much-needed latte.

The rest of the day was spent visiting family and catching up with everyone. Dinner tonight was at the always delicious Legal’s Seafood. We went to Legal’s while in Boston last year and had a great time. It was a must-visit this trip as well.

Added Bonus? GLUTEN FREE BREAD. And it doesn’t disappoint.

I ordered the Seared Ahi with a spicy wasabi cream sauce and cajun spices and it was unbelievable. I’m just starting to get into seriously raw fish, and this was so flavorful, and so fresh. (Apologies for the awesome quality of my iPhone photos)

Did I mention they go to great lengths for their Gluten Free guests? Well done Legal’s!

With that it’s time to relax and watch some TV… hope you have a great night!

2 thoughts on “A Run to the Monstah

  1. I had no idea you were born in Massachusetts. I lived there the first 12 years of my life and my family is the exact same way. Case in point, my entire family is coming to CA in June for my sisters wedding and the Monday afterwards we are all heading to the Sox A’s game. If there’s a game, they go! Looks like you are having a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

