Run in the Morning? Yeah OK.

So today I did something totally out-of-character – I ran at 6am.

And I loved it.

I somehow got myself out of our cozy, warm, bed to throw on my running clothes, fire up the Garmin (welcome back old friend!) and set out for 5 wonderful, beautiful, amazing miles.

Seriously, I’m not joking when I say I could get used to this. It’s 10:52am and I’m completely done with my run for the day. This is incredible. And I didn’t even have to shower at the gym.

The weather was perfect, the sunrise was in full effect, the bay breeze was just enough, and it was a peaceful, perfect run.

One of the main reasons I absolutely despise morning running (aside from the obvious of waking up at an ungodly hour) is running in the dark. I’m sorry to those of you that like it, but I just don’t find it enjoyable. I don’t like not being able to see where I’m going, and I sure as hell don’t like not being able to see what’s happening around me. The only time I actually enjoy running outdoors is in the early morning (which is ironic since I apparently hate running before work) when the city is just waking up, and the tourists on their death-mobiles (bikes) are minimal. Every other runner gives you a “good morning” or a nod of acknowledgement, and even the bikers are nice (which in my experience, is a rare, rare occasion!)

I swear, I could get used to this.

I know there are all types of studies that completely contradict each other – running in the morning is better because you’re fresh and you can focus completely on your run, or running in the evening is better because you’re well fueled and hydrated throughout the day. I think it’s best to just determine when your internal body clock is most productive, and stick with that time. For me – I’ve always been a lunchtime or evening exerciser because it’s a routine, and a habit I can stick to. I have to go directly after work, because once I’m home and relaxing, I get tired, and once that hits, there’s no way I’m going to get a run-in. But after this morning’s run, and with the lighter mornings… it might be time to change that up. Are you a morning or evening exerciser?

The reason for incredibly early run was because I had a plane to catch and figured if I’m going to be sitting for the next 5.5 hours, I may as well have done something active for myself this morning.

We are headed to Boston, and it just didn’t feel right arriving there, without at least a few miles under my belt this morning. (Edited to add: this post should have gone up while I was flying the friendly Virgin America skies but genius forgot to upload the pictures first. Oops.)

My splits were surprisingly speedy for not having eaten in 12 hours, and not having had my beloved caffeine. I also very obviously went out far too fast and had to slow down the last mile or so, but I’ll still take it. Garmin, it’s good to have you back on board.

And speaking of active and speaking of my new-found interest in trail running, I ran the 4 miles of the Tennessee Valley trail yesterday and ohmygod I want to do this every single day. Aron, I’m talking to you, can we please trail run together?!

With that it’s time to go find some fresh chowdah and lobstah rolls – when in Boston afterall!

13 thoughts on “Run in the Morning? Yeah OK.

  1. I tried morning runs for a while and I liked it, but then I went back to evening at some point. I just like afternoon/evening better for some reason. Love the photos!

    • I do too for the most part but running in the mornings is just so amazing. I’m REALLY trying to turn it into a habit since it’s light out in the mornings lately!

  2. I’m normally a late night workout-er, but I’m hoping to start getting into morning workouts during the summer… 1) to beat the heat and 2) to avoid late-night workouts after my (hopefully) long days of work interning.

    I love the views of the bridge that you take… makes me miss NorCal!

    And yes indeed those are speedy miles! Gettin’ back in the game 🙂

  3. I keep trying to crawl out of bed early enough to get my workout in but its so hard. I am going to figure it out though. Because I like not having to worry about it the rest of the day!

    And ahh Boston, have so much fun! If you for some reason go up to Newburyport for the day go to The Grog! Best clam chowder in Massachusetts hands down. (I was born there so I think I have a little clout!)

  4. I love working out/ running in the morning, I like to get it out of the way and I don’t even have time to think about it it is already over and done with. I wish I had the same view you had when I was running though! Enjoy Boston!

  5. Wow I’m seriously impressed that you fit in a morning workout (and outdoor run no less) before work!! It’s hard enough for me to pry myself out of bed at 6:15/30 every morning and I can’t imagine having to make that earlier! In theory though, I like the idea of getting the workout done in the am so I have the whole rest of my day. I find that evening workouts often get pushed aside in favor of plans with friends so maybe I need to come around to the am workout thing! Have an awesome time in Boston! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  6. Morning workouts have been my goal for quite some time, it’s just a difficult transition when my hobby is staying up past midnight (must. change.) the real challenge will hit after daylight savings time when it becomes pitch black in the morning…. i need a headlamp
    p.s. can’t wait to catch up on all your boston posts!

Leave a Reply

