Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles

To set the scene it’s been a rainy, gloomy, cloudy and gray couple of days in San Francisco this week. When those adjectives combine, there are few things I’d rather do than snuggle up under a blanket on the couch in cozy clothes and watch hours upon hours of TV.

Something that ranks just above that extreme level of laziness (barely) is baking.

I got home from Pilates yesterday, amped up by the delivery of my new stainless steel Cuisinart hand-mixer (we have zero extra counter space for a Kitchen-Aid mixer but believe you me… when we do, the stainless steel version will be ours) and brand-spanking new Silpat and knew I wanted to bake. I also knew I needed to use whatever ingredients we had on hand as venturing out in the horrific weather wasn’t about to happen. (You think people are bad drivers in fill-in-the-blank-city normally? Try adding in pouring rain to the equation. Recipe for disaster.)

I have always had quite the love affair with Snickerdoodles. They are my all-time favorite cookie which may or may not have something to do with the copious amount of cinnamon involved. I will do just about anything for cinnamon.

So naturally when I saw a recipe for Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles on Skinnytaste, one of my favorite food blogs, I knew I had to try them out.

Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles


Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups King Arthur white whole wheat flour (I used Whole Wheat Flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tbsp sugar*
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon*
  • cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°F.  Line two baking sheets with Silpat mats.

Combine flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk.

Combine 1 cup of sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended.  Add the agave, vanilla and egg; beat well.  Gradually add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture, beating just until combined.

 

Cover and chill for 10 minutes.

 

In a medium bowl, combine 3 tbsp sugar with cinnamon, stirring with a whisk to combine.  With moist hands, shape dough into 42 (1-inch) balls.  Roll balls in sugar/cinnamon mixture.

 

Place balls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets (I slightly flattened them).   

Bake 375°F for 5-7 minutes (cookies will be slightly soft). 

 

Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes.  Remove from pans; cool completely on wire racks.  Enjoy!

These cookies are incredible – I’m guessing because I used all whole-wheat flour mine came out a bit darker and a bit denser, but just as delicious. I actually prefer a fluffier cookie, so these were right up my alley! For a more traditional snickerdoodle, just follow the recipe exactly.

Have a great Wednesday!

 

3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles

  1. I’m right there with you- this yucky rainy weather makes me want to curl up by a fire and catch up on tv and movies. Oh and play monopoly– don’t ask me why, it just sounds cozy. And these cookies look delicious! My brother is obsessed with snickerdoodles but is trying to eat healthy so maybe I’ll make these for him as a treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

