Run Baby Run

Well, the day has finally come. I woke up this morning feeling just about 96% back to normal (sore throat is still lingering at night and early mornings) and decided that after 10 days (!!!!!!) of not running, it was time to make my triumphant return.

To preface, I ran Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Sunday while in Hawaii (elliptical-ed Monday and biked Tuesday, Wednesday), but haven’t run since then. A week ago I came down with the sore throat, and was feeling just all-around crummy since then. Honestly running was the last thing I wanted to do (or cardio in general, which is when you know I’m not feeling like myself.)

Today I’m finally back to normal.

Armed with the essentials, I hit the treadmill. Let me be clear – it really doesn’t matter to me what type of weather we’re dealing with outside (it was sunny, clear and chilly today), I do not like running outdoors unless it’s in the morning. I don’t know why, I just know what I like. And what I like after work is to run on the treadmill. Give me a long outdoor run on a weekend morning any day, but on weeknights when the masses are out… the treadmill is my happy place. I love to run outside in the city when it’s just waking up and is quiet and peaceful and the perfect environment for a relaxing run. Running alongside traffic, tourists, and 1,000 other people is not my idea of a good time.

The treadmill and “news” however, is.

I happen to not be one of those people who dislikes running in place for a solid hour-and-a-half. I look at this as time spent catching up on current events. I also in no way think that the disaster that is the Bachelor deserves to be in the same picture as one Duchess Kate, but I digress. Us Weekly another 15-minutes-of-fame cover? For shame. For the record I will never, ever be setting foot in Monaghans again, under any circumstances. (Okay if it’s a really good circumstance I will). But in general, if it’s good enough for Bachelor Ben, I’m sorry but I’m out.

End tangent.

So after work I marched myself to the gym and to the treadmill I went. On the treadmill I stayed…. for 8 glorious, beautiful, sweaty, endorphin producing and mind-numbingly happy miles.

Fueling my run? A ridiculously delicious Plant Veggie Burger topped with avocado with a side of fresh blueberries for lunch.

It definitely wasn’t as easy as 8 miles would have been a month ago, but it felt so blissfully amazing that I didn’t care how hard it was. I didn’t care that the miles were between 8:57 and 9:31. I didn’t care that I was sweating more than usual (although the woman next to me probably did… not to worry overly-concerned-woman… I made it!)

This is the one and only time you will ever see a photograph of this nature. I was just that happy. Runner’s high, how I’ve missed you.

Honestly the hardest part was the last .25 miles. Seriously Kristine? You ran an effing marathon and and the last quarter-mile was the toughest out of an 8 mile run? (Coincidentally that is the exact internal dialogue I had with myself to keep running. And then I cranked up the speed to a full on sprint. Negative thoughts be damned.)

Having not run for an embarrassingly long amount of time, I kept my pace conservative – hovering around 9:30’s on average. A few times I felt strong enough to go down to 8:57s’s and a few times I felt fatigued and slowed down to 9:45’s.  I’m not dumb enough to think that after zero speed work since my half-marathon in February, and very few miles logged in the last month that I’m going to hold the 8:15’s I was at just 8 weeks ago… but give me time… I’ll be back there.

Back in December I set a goal of a 1:50 1/2 marathon as a 2012 “goal” – a time I unexpectedly hit (and technically exceed with a 1:49 at Kaiser had it not been for the women that stopped on the finish line causing me to have to stop as well. I’m still not over that. Especially because my “official” time says 1:50. Lies.)

Yes I’m still seething about this. Lady in front of me, I blame you, and I have photographic proof. I’m pretty sure you can see the outrage on my face.

Now if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to put my feet up, let my compression sleeves work their magic, and finish preparing what looks to be ridiculously tasty Toasted Sesame Salmon for our dinner tonight.

Have a great night!

10 thoughts on “Run Baby Run

  1. May I suggest carrying pepper spray next race to deal with land mines such as this women at the finish. COME ON! next time sis.
    ps, reading this post was counterproductive as I took one look at the avo burger and ran straight to the kitchen. MmmMM

  2. Yay for feeling almost all better!! And for getting to run again! I happen to agree with you about Monaghans and as much as I don’t want to have a Ben spotting, I kind of do. Haha but I’m placing bets that she will break up with him in about 3 months. And People, being the superior publication (though I love me some US Weekly too) would feature the beautiful Princess… well done. And how have I still not had a Plant veggie burger? This needs to change asap.

  3. that pic of you running is hilarious..you look awesome…but the chick next to u looks like shes gonna die and then there’s a giant next to her hahah. you just reminded me to wear my compression socks!!

    • hahaha i swear i was furious at this woman at the finish line. she stopped ON it. and then i accidentally body slammed her. when i got my compression socks i told my boyfriend “i’m going to wear these after every run”. that was 3 mos ago. i think i’ve worn them 3 times. woops!

  4. I’m sick too! Haven’t really run since my 8k two weeks ago (okay, I ran twice around the block that’s it) and can’t shake the cold. boo.

    are you supposed to wear compression socks when you run or after? I’ve been running my races with them on….. o.O am I doing it wrong?

    Congrats on the 8 mile run!!

    • I hope you feel better! I know plenty of people that wear them while running… Having something on my legs just drives me nuts so I wear them for recovery 🙂 I don’t think there’s a right or wrong way to do it!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

