The Hollow Chicken

Happy Friday! 🙂

I for one have been suffering from exhaustion all week and can’t wait for a nice, looooong 3-day weekend! (After the nice looong run I have planned for this afternoon. I’ll have a weekly workout round-up up tomorrow). We have big plans of birthday celebrating tonight, Pilates teacher training tomorrow, and then heading down the coast for the night on Saturday. Should be a great little weekend.

You all I know I live for breakfast. Not only is it the most important meal of the day, but more importantly, its delicious. I love all of the flavors – sweet or savory. I try to always be mindful of getting enough calories, protein, fiber, etc in at breakfast so that it sets the right tone for the rest of the day.

That’s why, when I recently discovered Anne’s blog (I’m not sure what rock I’ve been living under either) and saw all of her DELICIOUS recipes (I’ve printed out about 11 already), I knew I had to try her Simple Baked Oatmeal for on-the-go breakfasts.

And simple it was.

She’s currently getting her Master’s in Public Health/Nutrition, so you know these recipes are going to be good (and healthy!)

You can find her recipe here, and if you need further prodding to check it out, it looks like this:

And tastes amazing. Imagine it topped with Greek Yogurt, or fresh fruit. I made a batch last night, split it into ~8 servings, and then refrigerated it so that I can take it with me as breakfast at work, before Pilates, etc. This morning I microwaved it at the office, and added a spoonful of Peanut Butter to the top and it was so good I wished I had the foresight to pack all 8 servings with me. (Especially once the Peanut Butter met the warm oatmeal and got all melty and delicious.)

The only changes I made to her recipe?

  • Used 3T liquid egg whites (we were out of eggs)
  • Used dried cranberries (I despise raisins)
  • Used sliced raw almonds (no walnuts on hand)

Speaking of amazing. I don’t think I need to sell you on the most amazing creation we had for dinner last night. This meal was all boyfriend’s dreaming up, and I’ve already requested it as my birthday dinner (in November) this year. 😉

The Hollow Chicken Sandwich


  • 2 Acme Bread sourdough rolls, hollowed out
  • Homemade sundried tomato pesto
  • Cowgirl Creamery Mt Tam Cheese
  • Thinly sliced apples (we used a mandolin)
  • TJ’s Pulled BBQ Chicken (any chicken will do)

We baked the entire sandwich at around 350* for 10 minutes and ohmygod it was amazing.

Especially when washed down with our last Sam Adams Octoberfest beer. Crisp, refreshing, delicious.

It goes from this (extra apple slices were made into apple chips, and the extra bread was converted into breadsticks for dipping into a balsamic/olive oil/lemon pepper combo):

To this:

And is so satisfying and tasty without being heavy at all. A must-make! (Or try your own combination… just bake the entire sandwich.)

What’s your favorite sandwich?

Any weekend plans?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Hollow Chicken

  1. Pingback: The 3-Day | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

