Le Vegas Part 2 – The Food

Obviously a very large part of going to Vegas is the FOOD! While still being mindful of what I was eating, we definitely indulged in all the right ways, and sampled some of the best food I’ve had in a while!

Let’s get to it!

Brunch

The Grill at Canyon Ranch

I had done a little research pre-trip (clearly – have you met me? planner extraordinaire), and found out that not only was there a Canyon Ranch (the best spa/wellness/health resort in Tucson where I attended college) but there was a Canyon Ranch Grill in our hotel as well. Naturally, I knew we had to try it. I loved that they spelled out the nutritional information, and only used fresh, real ingredients.

Friday morning before our other friends arrived, boyfriend and I headed to the Grill for lunch. The menu looked absolutely incredible, and I had a very, very hard time deciding what to get!

In the end we settled on:

Kale Chips with Ranch

Ceviche

Housemade Southwestern Black Bean Burger with Avocado (her)

Seared Ahi Sandwich (him)

Strawberry Banana Apple Protein Smoothie (him)

Baked Fries (both… c’mon now! These had the best consistency, and were amazing for being healthy fries!)

Everything was absolutely amazing. It was fresh, healthy, satisfying without being overly filling, and gave us the energy we needed for a full day of gambling! Plus the best way to offset drinks at 2pm is with a healthy brunch first, right? 😉

If you’re in Vegas, and whether or not you do a spa day at Canyon Ranch, definitely stop by for brunch, lunch, etc. They have a full breakfast menu, cocktail menu, sides, snacks, lunch, espresso bar, fresh juices, etc. You won’t be disappointed… everything is absolutely amazing! (Also, my Kale Chips do not look like that. It’s become apparent we need to invest in a dehydrator.)

I’m also not embarrassed to say that on Saturday morning we brought our entire group back for brunch round 2… and everyone enjoyed their meals just as much. Fresh Carrot/Ginger/Apple juice, Ginger/Apple juice, spinach/arugula/dried fig/walnut salads, organic grass-fed beef burgers, lox and eggs, and scrambles were consumed and enjoyed by all.

Dinner

Sushi Samba

Boyfriend and I are obsessed with Sushi Samba. We went in Miami. We went in New York. Naturally, we had to go in Vegas. What a coincidence there happened to be one in our hotel!

We had a reservation on Thursday night and we showed up ready to eat! For some reason I was feeling adventurous with the menu and decided to go with some raw fish – a feat that typically isn’t accomplished when I go for sushi! (I usually prefer dragon rolls, or walu (butter fish) nigiri – the only raw fish I will touch!)

To start, we went with the Fried Plantains , and Edamame.

Then we dove right into the Seabass Miso skewers with Sushi Samba’s famous (and absolutely delicious!) giant Peruvian Sweet Corn. This is not to be missed.

I wish I could eat this daily.

I went with the Carnival Roll (shrimp, avocado, yellowtail tartare, crispy rice paper), we split the BoBo Brazil (seared wagyu beef, avocado, kaiware, shiso, red onion, chimichurri), and boyfriend had Samba Sashimi Sampler.

Absolutely amazing, and a great Vegas ambiance. The place is also a lounge, and was packed, loud, and a lot of fun.

Table 10

Sadly, I didn’t take any of my own pictures (too involved in the eating), but this place was a WIN. Saturday night we were all going to see Cirque du Soleil’s “O” at the Bellagio and wanted to have a nice dinner beforehand. We did some researching and ended up between Mario Batali’s Carne Vino and Emeril’s Table 10. Since Carne Vino didn’t list prices on the menu on the website (we took that as a bad/expensive omen), Table 10 it was!

For apps, we shared plenty including:

Fresh Baked Grissini
La Quercia black hog prosciutto – black truffle butter

Candied North Country Farm Bacon
Noble Tonic #1

Sriracha Chicken Wings
sweet + heat – cucumber buttermilk – pickled vegetables

Classic Beef Tartare
quail egg – traditional garnishes – crostini

Fried Great Lakes Smelt
preserved lemon mayonnaise

All amazing but the Smelt, Beef Tartate and Grissini (aka thin breadsticks wrapped in prosciutto and drizzled with truffle butter) were my definite favorites!

For entree, I went with:

Wild Salmon
Brussels sprouts – lobster sauce – chick pea fries

I didn’t even know I liked Brussel Sprouts and I loved them – licked my plate clean.

Overall everyone raved and raved about this dinner. The food was delicious, fresh, and the prices were extremely reasonable (especially for Vegas!)

Definitely recommend all of the above on your next trip to Vegas!

Now tell me – what’s your favorite Vegas restaurant?

6 thoughts on “Le Vegas Part 2 – The Food

  1. Omg that Canyon Ranch Grill looks absolutely AMAZING! I basically want everything on the menu! And I’ve never seen Peruvian corn before but that looks fab! Can’t wait to try these places on my next Vegas trip! I love Bouchon in Vegas- I’ve been to the NY bakery and that one but never the one here in CA, clearly I need to change that asap!

Leave a Reply

