Breaking the Fast

If you’re like me, you eat dessert after dinner, don’t get nearly enough sleep during the week, and even after all of that you still wake up ready for breakfast.

I’m a huge, huge fan of breakfast foods. If it was up to me, we’d have breakfast for dinner at least once a week. Eggs, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, french toast, my beloved waffles with macadamia nuts and coconut syrup in Hawaii….I love it all.

My only requirement is that it be healthy, easy, and that I’m able to prep it in the morning, and take it with me to eat when I arrive at work. I drink a mug of black coffee while I get ready every morning, but in order to maximize sleep, breakfast gets eaten at work.

Typically I start the day with (surprise, surprise) a protein smoothie. It’s filling, I get both fruits and veggies, and it tastes delicious.You can add whatever you want, and experiment with different combinations until you get something delicious!

Like today’s Protein Smoothie Concoction – Strawberry Banana!

It’s virtually impossible to make that look appealing. Trust me, it tastes fantastic.

1c unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, 3 handfuls organic baby spinach, frozen strawberries, banana, 1.5 scoop Chocolate SunWarrior Protein Powder, 1T Chia Seeds

Some other (easy and healthy) week-day breakfast favorites?

Fruit, Cereal and Greek Yogurt

Full disclosure: I use 0% Greek Yogurt. The flavored kinds, while really tasty add a lot of sugar, which I don’t particularly want first thing in the morning. The fruit adds plenty of sweet flavor to offset the bitterness of the yogurt for me. If it’s still not sweet enough, a little agave or honey should do the trick!

(In a Chobani 6oz container the amount of sugar more than doubles from 7g in a 6oz 0% Plain to 19g in a 6oz 0% Apple Cinnamon.)

Whole Wheat English Muffin with Almond Butter, Banana, Honey, Cinnamon, Pumpkin Pie Spice

It’s completely important and necessary to use all components.

Starbucks Perfect Oatmeal

Tastes best when washed down with a non-fat latte.

Healthy Egg McMuffin

Scramble 2 eggs in a bowl, sprinkle Parmesan cheese, microwave covered with wax paper for 2 minutes (or until you hear the “pop!”), pile onto toasted Whole Wheat English Muffin, and top with whatever you have on hand (leftover chicken sausages, bacon, veggie bacon, etc)

With that, I’m starving, so it’s time to heat up my lunch!

What am I missing? Any favorite breakfast staples?

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Breaking the Fast

  1. Did you happen to get your title from a certain commenter at the Snacking event?? 😉 These are all my favorite breakfasts too! I also eat breakfast at work (I refuse to waste precious sleeping time on it!) and can usually be seen with a fruit/yogurt/granola bowl! I always go for the plain flavors too because I figure if I want sugar, I’d rather have it in other ways! I also love Nature’s Path Buckwheat Wildberry Waffles… they are so delicious!

  2. I used to love breakfast food too! A meal full of bread, I’m all for it. But, my allergy to wheat has screwed me and I’m pretty devastated. Really need to find a great gluten free bread.

Leave a Reply

