Lay Off Me, I’m Starving

After posting about snacking Thursday, I started thinking about what my days/meals look like. I probably couldn’t tell you the last time I only ate 3 square meals. Usually it’s more like 5 or 6 small meals. Otherwise I get ravenous, and when I get ravenous, well, it’s not pretty.

This post was supposed to be up yesterday, but after I slaved away over it, WordPress deleted it. Awesome, thanks so much. So I tried my best to remember everything I’d written…

Anyway, I don’t normally post about what I eat, but I thought it would be interesting to share what sustains me, and what keeps me going throughout the day, giving me enough energy for work, and whatever workout (running, pilates or both!) I may have planned. This won’t be a daily occurrence, but rather a once-weekly, or a couple of times a week. I often get asked what I eat during the day to keep me going, and while a lot of it is repetitive and I won’t bore you with it, I do try to switch it up a bit. I thought it would be interesting to share work-day snacks and meals, and if you have any favorites I would love to hear about them! I’m always looking for new ideas.

Lets get to it!

Breakfast

I always like to start the day with some protein. Whether it be a Green Smoothie (my choice as of late), Peanut Butter Toast, or today’s choice – Greek Yogurt.

0% Greek Yogurt, Fresh Strawberries, and a handful of Multigrain Cheerios for a little crunch. And coffee is most definitely always involved.

Morning Snack

Around 10:30 I start to get hungry, and need something to tide me over until lunchtime. Today it was the Luna Peanut Honey Pretzel bar from my giftbag last night. (Don’t worry I have a full box of backups… thanks Mom!)

I mean just look at those Peanut Butter Chips!

Lunch

I feel my best when I incorporate veggies + protein at lunch. I always love me a tasty sandwich, but I almost-always get food-coma-tired immediately after. I’ve been making an effort to eat more salads, and I feel energized all afternoon. (Plus I’m pretty sure my skin is thanking me.)

I also treat myself to some fresh juice every now and again. This was a Super C – apple, orange, strawberry.

Spinach, Pumpkin Seeds, Goat Cheese, Crumbled Gardenburger, light vinegrette dressing

Afternoon Snack

Protein Shake! Something satisfying, without being filling before I hit the gym or Pilates after work. Boyfriend has been a (san spinach) Protein Shake/Smoothie in the morning guy ever since I can remember and he’s finally made me a convert. I can’t get enough of it.

1c Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, 3 heaping handfuls organic baby spinach, 1T chia seeds, frozen blueberries, 1.5 scoops Chocolate SunWarrior Protein Powder (my favorite protein powder by far!)

Dinner

Thursday = Jersday = Homemade Pizza Night! One of my favorite dinners.

Whole Foods Pizza Dough, Homemade Arugula Pizza, Light Mozzarella Cheese, Grilled Shrimp (in 1t olive oil, salt and pepper)

Dessert

Boyfriend surprised me with Chocolate Covered Potato Chips from Trader Joes tonight so naturally, we had to taste test! DELICIOUS, but so rich! One each was more than enough tonight.

So there you have it! How do your work-day meals/snacks differ? (Seriously, I love new meal/snack ideas!)

I’m off to Pilates Teacher Training, and then we’re headed down to the South Bay to watch my beloved Arizona Wildcats take on Stanford! BEARDOWN Arizona! 🙂

Have a lovely Saturday!

6 thoughts on “Lay Off Me, I’m Starving

  1. Sounds great! I have a very similar eating schedule. I used to hold off snacks because I didn’t think I should be eating between meals (CRAZY), but now I can’t imagine my day without them! Greek yogurt is the ideal breakfast. It just has so much protein and keeps me full right up until my first snack! And I’m definitely going to be trying that luna bar flavor, looks delicious. Great post-can’t wait to read more!

  2. I like to have a fried egg sandwich for breakfast. It’s very quick to put together and eat…and I love fried eggs! Also, love smoothies for breakfast with a larabar crumbled in…even when it’s cold outside. I keep turkey jerky at work for afternoon cravings, too. I’m a huge night eater so I find it’s really important to try to eat more in the morning and afternoon.

  3. I’m a nerd, but I kinda like seeing what people eat. I need to find a good gluten free pizza dough to make pizza at home. Your’s looks too good! Protein bars, juices, and salads- right up my alley 🙂 Hope you had a lovely weekend Kristine!

Leave a Reply

