Luna Bar : The Power of Snacking Event

As I mentioned in yesterday evening’s post, last night I got the chance to attend a very fun and extremely interesting event – “The Power of Snacking”, put on by the Institute for the Future (IFTF) and Luna Bars. Danielle invited me to the event, and as someone who’s been eating a Luna Bar a day since high school, I was extremely excited. I have a slight obsession. (Another reason to eat a Luna daily and hoard all of their hard-to-find-flavors? They donate 1% of their sales to a variety of women’s nonprofits. Tastes good and do good.)

The event was held at the W Hotel in San Francisco, and while I was stuck sipping sparking water all night, we were greeted with a cocktail hour with beer/wine and delicious appetizers (hello fig and prosciutto pinwheels!). I also finally got to meet the lovely Emily, one of my favorite Bay Area Bloggers, and had a great time chatting with her.

The Discussion

Basically over the past 30 years, most American adults have shifted from eating one snack a day – or none at all – to eating two or more snacks daily. Since our lifestyles have gotten so busy and diverse, it’s harder to lend ourselves to 3 square meals throughout the day. I can definitely attest to this, as I find myself eating 5-6 small meals a day. It works for me because when my blood sugar drops too low, I become a grade-A b!tch, and get extremely cranky. “Snacking” in-between my meals keeps me satiated all day, keeps my blood sugar in check, and prevents me from over-eating at “meal times”.

The Panel

The moderator was Diane Dwyer, a weekend anchor and reporter for NBC11. Diane was professional and personable, and I thought she did an excellent job. Also, she’s hilarious. I should probably watch the news more often.

Tara Delloiacono Thies, R.D. is a Registered Dietitian and the in-house nutritionist for Clif Bar & Company and she focuses on all things nutrition as it pertains to brand strategy, education, communication and labeling claims for all things Luna.

Miriam Lueck Avery is the Research Manager for the Institute for the Future and she works primarily with the Health Horizons, Global Food Outlook and Ten-Year Forecast Program.

Sarah-Jane Bedwell, R.D, L.D.N.  is a nutrition expert, speaker, blogger, and media personality. She’s also a Registered Dietitian and runs the “Eat Like Me” blog over at Self Magazine. In addition, I would like to be best friends with her.

Charlotte Biltekoff, PH.D. is an assistant professor at UC Davis and a cultural historian interested in American food consumers, especially their ideas about the relationship between diet and health.

Key Take-Aways:

  • Time spent in “secondary eating” (aka snacking, mini-meals between meals, etc) will continue to soar, the goal is to take away the guilty stigma associated with eating between meals
  • Eating “mini meals” between meals helps to curb the appetite, keeps your energy up and steady all day and controls your blood sugar. There is nothing wrong with eating between meals as long as we’re mindful and aware of what we’re eating.
  • There is a different between positive snacking (having a snack to curb your hunger) and snacking sabotage (mindlessly inhaling a bag of chips while watching TV)
  • Mindful snacking is the key – it’s not what you’re eating, it’s how you’re eating it
  • Internal Cues vs External Cues – “I should eat right now because I’m hungry” vs “I should eat right now because it’s noon, and it’s technically lunchtime”
  • Women 25-35 are increasingly turning to technology/social media to guide their dietary questions and purchases. As such traditional “water cooler talk” has become the social network. Health Professionals are getting out there too to share personal tips and listen to what’s being said
  • Listening to your body’s internal cues is the key to mindful eating/snacking
  • Filtering out the good from the bad (re: health information) is crucial to making good choices
  • Mindful eating starts with listening less to external factors and listening more to internal factors
  • The road to healthy eating/snacking? Start with ourselves first to influence others.
And since I know you’re interested, the goods:
And yes, I clearly already ate the bar as my mid-morning “snack”. And yes, I wish they would make a king-size bar in this specific flavor. Pretty please?

It was a wonderful event, thank you to Luna, IFTF, and Access PR for having me! If you want more information, check it out here: Power of Snacking

7 thoughts on “Luna Bar : The Power of Snacking Event

  1. What an interesting event! I need to pay extra attention to the sabotage snacking while watching TV…. It gets bad.I’m really trying to be mindful of it this month to see if I can break the habit with dry cereal

  2. Great recap of the event!! I’m so, so glad that I finally got to meet you! Drinks once you are off detox?? 🙂 And I too, scarfed down my Luna bar yesterday as my morning snack! That is seriously my new favorite flavor! YUM!

  3. Peanut Honey Pretzel sounds amazing! I’ve never been a huge Luna bar fan, I’ve really only tried the Lemon Zest, so I’ll have to try some more flavors.

    In terms of snacking between meals… I find myself getting so cranky in my 4-5 hour spans of classes and I should start stashing apples and other snacks in my backpack. And I totally agree about focusing on internal factors rather than external (time of day, peers). We eat dinner in the delta gamma house from 5-6:30… it’s so early, but I still eat because others are eating! It totally screws up my normal meal schedule because I find myself super hungry at 10 PM. Good thing oatmeal just needs hot water to cook up!

Leave a Reply

