Just Do It

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

-Benjamin Mee, We Bought A Zoo

Cue the dramatics.

Not to be self-indulgent (who am I kidding, this is a blog about my life), but I made a decision the other day. A big one. A decision that I’m extremely excited for.

I decided to go for my Pilates Teaching Certification.

It was a big decision to make (and I know it will take up a lot of time, but ultimately health, nutrition and fitness are my passions, and I wanted to take the first step into making it happen.

Pilates truly changed everything for me – even more so than running. It transformed my body, my mind, and it makes me feel strong every time I take a class. I’d never actually incorporated any type of strength training or toning into my workouts (aside from a 6-month yoga binge in which I convinced myself 90 minutes of yoga was equivalent to running for 90 minutes- the pants fit great that summer, believe me) and once I did, I’ve never felt better.

I look forward to the 3 classes I take per week, and when it’s time to stretch, I always find myself wishing the class were longer. I’m obsessed with having perfect form, and using the correct muscle groups in each exercise, and finding out how everything is connected to everything else in there. So… enter teaching training.

How It Works

The class itself includes lectures twice a week (6 hours total per week), and meets for 15 weeks. We then have 6 months to complete the hours of practical apprenticeship, practice teaching, self integration, etc.

Luckily the classes are on week nights and weekend mornings, so it doesn’t interfere with my job, and the instructor has assured me that people with full-time jobs can certainly balance both.

This all-inclusive 450+ hour course includes:

  • Pilates Mat Repertoire
  • Universal Reformer
  • Cadillac/Trapeze Table
  • Wunda/Combo Chair
  • Fundamental Pilates philosophy
  • Client assessment and alignment protocol
  • Anatomy, terminology and biomechanics taught in an interactive environment
  • Small apparatus skills: jump board, magic circle, rotating discs, balance/wobble board, foam rollers, thera bands/balls
  • Creative training and programming skills for any level of proficiency
  • Verbal and tactile cueing skills
  • Attitude, confidence and composure of a professional instructor
  • Studio etiquette and equipment safety
  • Ethics and scope of practice
  • Understanding specific injuries/dysfunctions and special circumstances

What It Is

An extremely comprehensive program, and extremely in-depth – and I wouldn’t have it any other way. If I’m going to do this, I’m going to do this right, and come out of it the best teacher I can possibly be.

Assessment Based Certificate/Diploma issued upon completing all course requirements including, but not limited to:

• 120 hours of Classroom Experience with a Master Trainer – Provided

• 75 hours of Observation/Apprenticeship of qualified instructor

• 100 hours of Practice Teaching/Charting with classmates/family/friends etc. (who wants in?)

• 40 hours of Self Integration (additional Pilates private/semi private or mat class experience with qualified instructor) I’m credited this due to the last 6 mos of 3-4x weekly classes.

• 45 hours Client Assessment and Programming Project – assignment

• 25 hours of an Anatomy Thesis Project – assignment

• 15 hours Pilates Professional Video/DVD Observation

• Passing scores on tests, practical exams and projects

The End Result?

Start teaching evening/weekend Pilates classes once I’m fully “graduated” and certified!

I’ve given this a lot of thought, researched programs, consulted a 30-year Pilates vet on her opinion (her answer: this was the best program she’s seen), and talked in great detail and length with boyfriend and my family. I want to teach Pilates, and I want to help people change and understand their bodies, their frame of mind, and their lives, and be the healthiest, and the fittest they can be.

And I can’t wait to get started!

32 thoughts on “Just Do It

  1. This is so exciting!! Congrats for making such an awesome decision. I have yet to try a reformer class but every time I read your posts about you going it makes me want to try immediately! Where do you recommend in SF? You know, before I take classes from you!! 🙂

    • Thank you! You have to try it, you’d love it! Pilates Proworks is a great studio, and The Pad offers great classes as well (both on Union Street in Cow Hollow).

  2. This is so exciting! It sounds like you’re going to learn a ton and get to pursue a passion — what could be better?

    And ditto Jane – where do you recommend in SF for pilates in the meantime?

    • Thanks! Pilates ProWorks and the Pad are my favorites. Mercury Fitness teaches East Coast Pilates so it’s a bit more intense (and traditional) but a hell of a workout!

  3. Good for you! That’s so great that you’re following your dream and I’m confident you’re going to be an awesome teacher because your love for the practice really comes through in your posts. Congratulations on making the decision and going for it!

  4. This is so awesome! Congrats for making such a big and brave decision. My best friend is a certified pilates instructor in SF and went through all the rigorous training. If you have any questions she’d love to help you out. She’s in SF too!

    • Thank you! I will for sure be asking you for her information! (also- this might just be me, but I can’t comment on your blog posts! I’ve tried a few times and I can never find the add new comment area!) help!

      • Thanks for letting me know! I changed the settings so hopefully it won’t be an issue any more. Anyways, just let me know when you’d like her info she works full-time as a pilates instructor in PA. Pretty cool gig if you ask me!

  5. Awesome – great decision. I always wish I worked in fitness to make it my life, but you are right that it’s hard to just do it. Good luck and ENJOY! I took for Pilates for about 4 years and then stopped, makes me want to go back…

  6. Ahh thats fab news!! Can’t wait to read all about it! 🙂 I tried Pilates once ages ago, with that machine thingy and I couldn’t get the hang of it! :/ Zero coordination over here! Haha! Although recently it has been calling my name so maybe I need to give it another shot! Best of luck with it love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

