Friday Thoughts

Happy Friday! Thanks to some lovely person’s car alarm going off around 5am for about 20 minutes, I’ve been up since about that time. I couldn’t fall back asleep, so I just decided to get up early, take my time getting ready, and mentally curse out whomever decided it was a good idea to have one of those car alarms that changes tune/tone ever 5 seconds (you know the one I’m talking about) and annoys everyone within a 5 block radius.

That was a great decision to make, so thank you.

Last night, I was watching Jersey Shore, and while it was still entertaining (that of the mindless variety), it’s getting somewhat old. Seriously Snooki, it’s time to pull yourself together. Even Deena isn’t as big a trainwreck as you are lately. Clean it up.

Also, am I the only one that really wants Mike to just spill the beans to Jionni? Clearly she’s trying to cover it up, or she wouldn’t be acting so darn guilty around him all the time!

I was also severely uncomfortable when the girl stole Pauly D’s gold chain (clearly stole it) and then pretended like it just ended up with her. Does she not realize there are cameras all over that house?

This morning, my Keurig decided to rear its ugly head and not make my cup of coffee. I tried 6 times before I swore at it, and decided that why yes, I do want to pay $2.10 for a cup of drip coffee when I have a coffee maker and k-cups at home.

I had big plans to go to Starbucks on my drive to work, but I passed a little coffee shop I walk by on my way to Pilates all the time and  there was a parking spot out front… so I went with it. (Does anyone else feel super cultured, and city-like when they go into a non-chain coffee shop? Like they know of this secret hidden gem? Just me? Alright.)

And proceeded to order a Grande Coffee.

The guy looked at me like I was an idiot. “Uhh do you mean a 16 oz?” Can we all just agree to have one language when it comes to ordering coffee? (Starbucks I’m talking to you.)

Coffee in hand cupholder, not one, but two Pitbull songs came on the radio. “International Love” and “Everything”. So maybe they’re not his songs per say, but when I think of them, I think of him, so he’s getting credit. It occurred to me this morning that I am indeed a Pitbull fan. Those are getting downloaded ASAP. My running playlist needs some new life breathed into it.

I finally think I’ve crafted the perfect morning (or anytime) protein smoothie.

I also recommend the Blender Bottle so you can both feel like a body builder and not spill the smoothie everywhere if you drink it at work like I do.

  • 1 c Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 3 huge handfuls organic spinach
  • Frozen organic mango and strawberries
  • Large spoonful of 0% Greek Yogurt (I like Fage and Chobani)
  • Scoop of Sunwarrior Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1 T Chia Seeds

The Vitamix (or any blender, I’m just infatuated with the Vitamix) turns it into the most delicious concoction of all time and keeps me full until lunch. And it tastes REALLY good!

I also signed up for Half Marathon #2 of the year – the US Half (registration $$ goes up Feb 9) bringing my 2012 race total to…. 6! Half-way to 12 road races in 2012! (and currently 2 chances to break 1:50!)

So that ends my Friday random thoughts… hope you have a great day, and a great start to your weekend! 🙂

 


 

10 thoughts on “Friday Thoughts

  1. I stumbled upon this little blog of yours (by stumble I mean saw your FB post). You always crack me up. This post was no exception 🙂

  2. You’re awesome your blog is really cool I wish I knew you during my 3 years living in San Francisco & Oakland. I felt really awkward too during the whole “stolen chain” deal

Leave a Reply

