Prohibition 2012

OK so it’s not prohibition, but it’s all I could think of. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been meaning to write this post for a couple of days now, and every time I try to incorporate it, I already have some 500 words and it ends up getting pushed to the next day’s post. (Such a hard life I lead, I know).

via

If you know me, and read yesterday’s post, you know that I do not usually toast one’s birthday with Diet Coke, but rather a glass of red wine.

However, my usual toast becomes a problem when I’m sticking to my self-imposed 30 Day Detox, so enter Diet Coke. (I rarely drink soda, but was in the mood for one last night! I actually really like this Zevia Diet Ginger Ale I’ve found though!)

via

There’s no real rhyme or reason for this detox (also known as simply not drinking alcohol for 30 days, getting my weekly mileage to 25-30 miles, and eating as clean as I can), aside from the fact that over the holidays I drank a fair amount (who doesn’t?) and let running/training fall to the wayside (well deserved if I do say so myself after 18 weeks of Marathon Training). A friend of ours is giving up drinking the entire month of January, so while I may be a week late (sorry I’m not sorry, last Saturday was a blast), I woke up Sunday morning ready to get the toxins out of my system!

I certainly needed a break from hard training, and definitely wanted to fully enjoy the holiday season (and I did, it was a blast) and I’m by no means getting back up to the mileage/workouts I was at pre-marathon (and probably never will!), but at the start of a new year, I wanted my health to take on a fresh start as well.

So given the fact that I have a 10-mile race in 2 weeks, and several more races after that this spring, and also the fact that before yesterday I hadn’t run more than 5 miles in one sitting since that glorious December morning in Sacramento… it was time to kick health/running into high gear.

via

Enter sobriety. From Jan 8-Feb 8 there will be no imbibing in any alcoholic beverages. At all. No exceptions.ย 

I want to build up my mileage base to a comfortable 12-13 miles as far as long runs go (10 yesterday was a solid start!) and be able to have strong runs so that I can PR (1:50 or less!) in my half-marathons this year.

While I will probably never again have the dedication in me that I had while marathon training, I’m hoping this 30 day detox will start the year off right, and get me to where I need to be base mileage wise so that I can continue to maintain it, and get faster. 30 days is realistic, while still a challenge, and I’m up for it.

Red Wine is heart healthy, why would I deprive myself of that for more than 30 days? That would be going against medical advice.

I’m sure that going out on weekends will be quite the challenge, but I’m confident I can do this… and hopefully my running will be all the better because of it!

via

Besides… no alcohol just means more dessert.

Am I right?

16 thoughts on “Prohibition 2012

    • Do it! I think the weekends are going to be the only really tough part. It’s been… 9 days thus far and I swear I have more energy and my skin looks better already! I’m planning on a Week 1 update post this week!

  1. Hahaha, I love all the Kate pics, especially the “champagne hand” one. Too funny. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job so far on the 30 days. Whenever I give up beer, I usually find myself throwing back way too many cookies. Perhaps I’m just really good at “balance”???

  2. I gave up alcohol when I was trying to drop weight for my wedding (for 3 months) and now can’t have it since I’m pregnant and I definitely did and do miss it. It’s especially hard when you see everyone else enjoying a drink and you can’t (or choose not to). It made me want it to more!
    Dessert is definitely a good substitute though!

  3. I’m not too big on alcohol and find that I just feel so much better when I avoid it. It’s definitely made easier when you have an actual goal in mind (like a detox). That being said, I wouldn’t mind a glass of champagne now after reading your post ๐Ÿ˜‰ Happy Friday!

    • I’m not a big drinker either (few drinks on the weekends), but over the holidays that increased to more wine, more drinks on the weekends, and a general Sunday morning “ughhhhh” wake up. So I figured I needed a month off! That being said, I’m dying for a glass of red wine!

  4. i am on a detox too! no alcohol since Jan 3 ๐Ÿ™‚ Aiming until Feb 3 . . . . but with the Niner’s game this weekend . . . . it will be a test for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ And those pics of Kate are hilarious. Did you write the words on them?? I get that empty ‘champagne hand’ look too when I have had a rough day. lol.

    • YAY! We can do it! This Sunday’s game will for sure be a challenge, but I’m just sticking to water and Diet Coke! I didn’t, I found the pictures on the Kate Middleton for the Win Tumblr site – it’s HYSTERICAL! I linked to it underneath each picture, definitely check it out!

  5. Pingback: Detox 2012 – Halfway There | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

