A Day of Highs and Lows + Return of the Long Run!

Whew! What a day it’s been! Today definitely threw me off my typical Wednesday routine (which would be…. work) a bit, but there were some definite high’s to go with the low.

Low: Waking up at 6am for Jury Duty

I spent the night at my parents house last night because I had Jury Duty out in the East Bay bright and early this morning. I got up around 6 so I could have a cup of coffee, and load up my car with our laundry (so nice to not have to pay $5 a load at the apartment and then panic for 3 hours wondering if someone is going to dump your stuff on top of the dusty dryers).

High: 7am = no line at Starbucks

I definitely needed a treat before driving 30 minutes to the courthouse and then sitting for who knows how long… so a Grande Non Fat Latte it was! And a bonus: Starbucks was empty and I’m pretty sure my drink was ready before I had even swiped my gift card.

Clearly, a recycled picture.

Low: Jury Duty

Need I say more? We sat from 8-11:15am (I read the newest issue of InStyle – thank you Mom for packing it in my tote this morning!), drank my latte, and ate breakfast (banana and the most delicious new Luna Bar Flavor I never knew existed!)

I’m a huge fan of Clif’s Peanut Butter Pretzal Mojo bar… and this is better. It’s SO delicious. Now I just need to find out where my mom got it from… and buy them out.

After I was in protein bar heaven, they brought us all upstairs to tell us about the trial that if we were picked we’d be assigned to. And then dismissed us for a 2 hour lunch.

High: Hot Bar at Whole Foods + Browsing at Nordstrom!

Well what else was I to do with 2 hours to spare when there was a Whole Foods and a Nordstrom within 15 minutes of the Courthouse? I put together a delicious salad that consisted of:

  • Mixed Greens
  • Wheatberries/kale/balsamic/parsley/dried cranberries
  • Chicken
  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Edamame

And washed it down with the most delicious juice boyfriend and I discovered at Whole Foods over the weekend – Apple Ginger! (Ingredients: Organic Ginger, Organic Apple)

I also discovered these ridiculously tasty “raw” ginger snaps. Evidently, I enjoy raw foods.

Yes, it’s clear to me too that I’m on a ginger kick lately. I credit the Ginger Beer in Moscow Mules for igniting this love affair with ginger.

Low: Returning to Jury Duty after lunch.

Le sigh.

High: Being dismissed!!

I hightailed it back to SF to make the most of the rest of the late afternoon before the sun set! With no traffic! Win.

Even Higher: The Return of the Long Run!

I decided to head out for a run (I was itching to move after sitting all day and it was gorgeous out) and decided on my usual 5-mile loop. 2.5 miles in, and I wanted more. I have a 10-mile race in a couple of weeks, so why not bring back the long, slow run today?

Then 10.5 miles happened. It was long, it was strong, and it was fantastic. I felt on top of the world. I have no idea my pace or my time because I just wanted to run… to run, but I did my 11-mile loop I became way too familiar with during Marathon Training and stopped just short of it.

Highest: Birthday Celebrating!

Today is a friend’s birthday (HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAUREN!) so after Pilates (guess who forgot to cancel in advance again and didn’t want to get charged?) and dinner, I headed out to toast Lauren’s birthday (with Diet Coke, but more on that tomorrow)… a great end to the day!

Also, this face was at Pilates this week:

Time to watch Pauly D on Chelsea Lately… hope you had a great day!

19 thoughts on “A Day of Highs and Lows + Return of the Long Run!

  1. So I’m actually one of those weird people who WANTS to have jury duty– which a poli sci background I love that stuff, but I still have never been called!! Yay for the short line at Starbucks and that new Luna bar flavor– that looks delicious! And yay for a little Whole Foods/Nordstrom lunch– don’t you wish all lunch hours could be like that?!

  2. I have seen that Luna on other blogs and need one immediately. If you find them in SF and do not share the knowledge ASAP I will, well I don’t know what I will, but don’t find out! 😉

  3. Pingback: Prohibition 2011 | runningonhungrydotcom

  4. Pingback: Workout Round Up | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

