The Indecisive Run

So last night I knew that I wanted to get in a solid run before heading to Pilates. Since Sunday was a day of extreme (and I mean extreme) productivity, we didn’t get home until around 7:30, and well, going to the gym that late is no way to end a weekend. Cooking up a feast is!

After work I had about an hour or so before I had to be at Pilates so I went to the gym to get in 5 miles on the treadmill. And choosing how to get there was half the battle.

I started out by doing 1 cycle (1.69 miles) of my increasing interval workout:

Then I decided that bored me, so I switched to 20 minutes of HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training). HIIT is one of my favorite ways to get a run in because the time flies by, you get in a ton of miles, and it’s really, really good for you to gain speed.

I also discovered you can set Speed Intervals on the treadmill (running speed/walking speed) so when you want to toggle between the two you just hit the “Speed Interval” button and it switches for you. (Am I the only one that gets seriously frustrated having to hold the button down for-ev-er?) Anyway, it just about made my day.

So for 20 minutes (2.16 miles) I alternated with 20 seconds of all out sprinting, and 40 seconds of power walking.

To finish off the run, I ran for 1.70 miles at a 9:13 mile pace. And I’ll be completely honest – I only stayed on so I could dive into the newest Us Weekly. (Definitely Team Katy over Team Russell. Sorry Aldous Snow.)

While we’re on the subject, I can’t be the only one that is completely on board with the Jessica Biel/Justin Timberlake engagement. I LOVE them and I’m glad he finally quit it tool-like ways and manned up.

I’ll be expecting our save-the-date shortly.

Overall I covered 5.45 miles and it honestly flew by. Doing HIIT intervals is one of my favorites, and it is so, so helpful to get faster and to practice running at faster speeds.

Trust me, you can do anything for 20 seconds. 🙂

My favorite pilates reformer class with my favorite instructor was the perfect way to cap off a very sweaty Monday.

Hope your week is off to a great start!

 

17 thoughts on “The Indecisive Run

  1. Lady, your such a running inspiration! Love all your posts 🙂 As for JT… I’m glad he finally pulled the trigger and stopped with his D bag ways! I’ve always loved him (I mean loved him during NSYNC) but lately I’ve just been like eh. Happy for her though!

    • Aww thank you! I was SUCH a fan of him in the old days too and lately it’s been like get off your high horse (and please for the love of god stop acting!) I love her, so I’m happy!

  2. I think Justin and Jessica are so cute together, but I don’t know if they’ll last. I pretty much automatically assume that any Hollywood relationship will most likely end in divorce (not that I don’t enjoy the engagements and gossip, though!).

  3. I’ve never done a hiit treadmill workout but it looks good and intense! I like that is over quickly though lol. And I’m all about Team Katy too– Russel has always kind of freaked me out, I think he was also secretly jealous of her success, I feel like that’s a real problem in celeb relationships. (Look at me, going all therapist to the stars…) And I’m all about J&J too! I feel like Jessica put in some serious time there and I’m glad he finally stepped up!

  4. Pingback: Workout Round Up | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

