First 48 Hours of 2012

Happy New Year!

Hope everyone had a blast ringing in the New Year, and that it’s off to a great start!

New Years Eve started off with a slight hangover (thank you New Year’s Eve Eve festivities at Wayfare Tavern and the Bucaneer) that was quickly cured by a big homemade breakfast, and 4-mile run outside (in my brand new University of Arizona Nike Tempos – courtesy of boyfriend for Christmas) They make you run faster, I swear.

We didn’t have any over-the-top plans, so Boyfriend and I decided to cook up a big feast and enjoy our own New Years Eve dinner for two. There was a delicious New York Strip Steak with a homemade balsamic glaze, mushroom, spinach and ricotta ravioli, homemade arugula pesto, Stella Artois’ and cocktails (fresh lemon/lime juice, Zevia Ginger Ale, Vodka).

We toasted the New Year and enjoyed a few more drinks with friends before heading home and making goat/gouda/mozzarella quesadillas (x3). A successful New Years Eve indeed!

Yesterday, after sleeping in, we awoke to an unseasonably warm January 1 day – 65 degrees and sunny in SF. Naturally, we had to take advantage of it (and do some dog-watching.)

I am a full on, dog stalker, and I’m totally alright with that.

New Years Day night we went to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and I LOVED it. Daniel Craig as Bloomqvist is exactly as I imagined the character, and Rooney Mara as Lisbeth (while scarier than I imagined) was spot on. I can’t WAIT for The Girl Who Played with Fire to come out next. The only complaints I have is that I wish they set the scene a bit more in the beginning for people who hadn’t read the books.

Today (January 2) marked the first workout of 2012! Boyfriend and I hit the gym this afternoon, and I ran 4 miles at an 8:30 pace, biked 7 miles, and then came home to once again try out our new favorite kitchen gadget.

The VITA MIX!

We received this for Christmas from “Santa” (aka my parents) and I’ve used it every single day since. The smoothies (not to mention soups, sauces, nut butters, pestos, etc) this baby can make are ridiculous. I may never eat solid food again. And that’s a promise.

My smoothie of choice?

It’s actually green, I swear.

Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, 2 large handfuls of spinach, frozen mangoes, frozen pineapple, frozen strawberries, scoop Chocolate Sun Warrior Protein Powder

I’ve experimented adding 4-6oz (1 container) of 0% Greek Yogurt for extra protein and it gives it a more whipped texture which I’m a big fan of.

We’re in the middle of a huge New Years cleaning/organizing the apartment spree, so back to it… hope your last day of the Holiday weekend is going well!

17 thoughts on “First 48 Hours of 2012

  1. I want a vita mix, your santa is awesome!! My boyfriend and I did the same thing New Years day, walk on the beach and I obsessed over all the dogs there that I wanted to steal! and today I saw The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Daniel Craig was totally the perfect Mikal! I thought the movie was very well done, I cannot wait for the other 2!

    • Haha we had the exact same day! I thought Daniel Craig was perfect as Mikal! (When is he not?) Rooney Mara scared the ish out of me as Lisbeth but she did such a great job!

  2. LOVE balsamic glaze! I find a way to incorporate it into as many meals as possible but never make it from scratch – I keep a bottle of it hand. Okay fine, I’m lazy.

    I still need to read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I have issues with needing to read books before seeing the movie. I don’t know why I do this, because I end up being disappointed! Sounds like it was pretty spot-on, yes? (aside from the beginning)

    • It’s SO tasty! (And you are not lazy!) πŸ™‚ It was a special occasion so we whipped it up! Haha

      Definitely read the book – I’ll be honest that it takes you until about half-way through to get hooked, but one you do, you’re in for the rest of it! They did a REALLY good job. I just wish for people that hadn’t read the book (like my boyfriend) they did a better job of letting you know what was going on! And the main characters are perfectly cast!

    • No way! I’m of the mindset that anything counts! I love new workout clothes – They always make me want to workout so I can wear them! πŸ™‚ I’m trying to get faster too… starting off with very few miles!

  3. I always feel faster when I wear my USC gear, it’s magic! The bay looks beautiful; so lucky to have such good weather for New Years Day. I’m glad you’re loving your VitaMix. I’ve been using Lauren’s and I’m going to shed some tears when I have to go back to school in a week 😦

  4. Wow, our New Years Eve sounds oddly similar! We went and saw The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo as well and then went to dinner (just us two). Hmmm, next time we should coordinate lol!

    Do I spy a Bauble Bar necklace? Very cute! Let’s be sure to get together this year πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

