Sweating Out The Holidays

Oh hello there.

Sorry for the lack of posts this week, but with the holidays, and relaxing, and (sigh) heading back to work for a couple of days the blog has taken a little winter break from (almost) daily posts. Never fear, normal posting will resume come January 1.

The winter weather has almost certainly rolled in as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed the long Christmas weekend (whyy does it always go by so darn fast?), and I’m definitely looking forward to a long New Years Weekend that starts in just over 24 hours… and then to Martin Luther King Weekend in January. Obviously. I have priorities.

Workout wise, it’s pretty much been business as usual… minus about 18 miles a week. πŸ˜‰ I’m still thrilled and overjoyed to not have to wake up on weekends and run for 3 hours (I’m pretty sure that overjoyed feeling will never, ever go away) but I’ve been working on speed and getting in some faster, shorter runs, spending ~1 hour tops working out. The things I’m able to get done with the other 2 hours is astounding – cooking, cleaning, reading, relaxing, movies, sleeping! Suffice to say the full marathon was fun while it lasted, but we’re taking at least a year-long break.

As far as fitness goes, the holiday weekend looked something like this:

Thursday (12/22) Pilates Reformer class (am), 5.5 mile treadmill run (pm) at a pace of 8:20. The. Entire. Time. Faster half-marathon here I come! Everything about the run was perfect – I had a great playlist, my legs felt light, and fresh, and I flew. A run that feels like this every now and again is a perfect reminder why I put myself through the crappy ones.

Friday (12/23) Rest. Boyfriend and I did some last minute Christmas shopping then worked out our appetites at Wayfare Tavern. It’s Tyler Florence’s San Francisco restaurant, and we finally tried it – and LOVED it. The Steak Tartare and popovers are unreal. Highly recommended!

Saturday (12/24) – Back in the burbs for Christmas. 4 mile treadmill run (2 miles at 8:20, 1 mile at 8:00, 1 mile at 8:40). All under 9 minute miles? I’ll take it! With all the holiday craziness, wrapping, food prep, and last minute errands I took ~35 minutes to myself to run (well, drive) to the gym and bust out a run that left me feeling mentally relaxed, and physically ready to dive into the Christmas Eve feast!

Sunday (12/25) – We opened presents, ate a delicious brunch of eggs, bacon, toast, coffee cake and fresh orange juice, and I found myself with a People magazine and about an hour of spare time before my mom wanted to go for a Christmas Day walk. I hopped on my parent’s stationary bike and busted out 55 minutes of Hill – Level 10 riding (about 18 miles) before strolling with my mom for about an hour.

When we got home my mom and I started prepping the homemade Pork Wellington’s (tedious, but SO worth it) and mashed sweet potatoes, while boyfriend, my dad and brother watched the endless NBA games (seriously poor showing Warriors).

Monday – After sleeping in, laundry and a late brunch, Boyfriend and I headed back to the city in the afternoon and went to the gym for a quick workout. I did 5 miles on the treadmill while reading Us Weekly, at around a 9:15 pace. After the wine and dessert fest I had all weekend, I was more than happy to be able to hold a pace of anything more than a slow crawl.

Overall I spent 35-55 minutes (almost) each day exercising – it wasn’t a lot, and it certainly didn’t take away from the time I spent with my family and friends or make me feel rushed at all (Christmas Day in our house is a very casual affair). It was exactly what I needed to be able to tackle the endless food and drinks of the weekend, and enjoy everything the holiday weekend had to offer – to the fullest. It cleared my mind, and quite honestly, it felt really good to sweat!

I’m one of those people that really likes to workout and loves to sweat, and if I have an hour to spare, I would prefer to spend it running or biking or walking or pilate-ing. It doesn’t need to be fast, and sometimes, it doesn’t even need to be challenging, I just like to move. Especially if I can read the latest Celebrity gossip. (Duchess Kate can’t wear pajamas on Christmas morning, there’s a strict dress code – downside #1 of being royal).

With that, it’s time to get back to work! Hope you’re having a great week!

Do you work out over the holidays? Whether it’s a stroll with family, a walk with the dog, or a snowball fight – it counts!

5 thoughts on “Sweating Out The Holidays

  1. I’m in SF too and just got back from a run along the Embarcadero. I agree with you; I have to work out over the Holidays. Keeps me sane and I need those endorphins! Treadmill + US Weekly = amazing indoor workout. Glad to hear you liked Wayfare Tavern…it’s been on my list for far too long. I must go!

    • Ahh I’m so jealous! Reading Us Weekly makes the minutes flyyy by on the treadmill! I’m stuck in the office until later this afternoon! 😦 You HAVE to try Wayfare – if only for the wine and popovers! (But get dinner too). The burger is next on my list there!

  2. I really wish I had the coordination to read and run at the same time! Seriously how do you do it?! πŸ™‚ I have tripped off more treadmills than I care to remember! Haha! :/ Glad you had a lovely Christmas and happy new year in advance!! πŸ™‚

  3. I have it engrained in me to workout everyday…even right through the holidays, so I will wakeup earlier to get my run or swim in. But this Christmas I was really sick and spent a lot more time with my family (I had no idea how much energy a mowning run zaps from u!) it was wonderful!! Next time I’m in the bay we run!!! (with Caitlin too!) xoxo!

Leave a Reply

