Post Marathon Training?

So remember that Post-Marathon Training Plan I mentioned I would try to follow?

About that…

To recap last week’s training (or Week 1 of post-marathon training):

Monday – Pilates Reformer Class + 3 Mile Run – I had just planned on a 3-mile run (I worked out with a friend at a seriously swanky SF gym… and now want to join) but since I had time to kill before meeting her downtown, I fit in a reformer class. If you haven’t tried one for whatever reason, I can’t recommend them enough. I have (tiny) muscles in places I didn’t even know muscles lived.

Tuesday – Pilates Reformer Class. I wanted to work out, and I wanted to lie down. Pilates felt like a happy medium.

Wednesday – 3 Mile Run (probably the hardest run I’ve had in the past ~5 months and I have no idea why.) But I was sweating bullets and on the verge of passing out when I was done.

Thursday – Pilates Reformer Class

Friday – 4 Mile Run – we had my company Christmas party that night and I knew I would be imbibing in both beverages and delicious finger food so I wanted to get a solid run in. 9:10/mile pace. Read Us Weekly… Christmas at the Palace just sounds stressful.

Then we did this. Because what’s a party if a woman in head to toe spandex hanging from the ceiling isn’t pouring your champagne?

Saturday – 5 Mile Run (at a <9 minute mile pace! I’m BACK!) I was feeling a little tired after a late night on Friday and knew a late night Saturday was in my future so I threw on my running shorts (SHORTS! In December!) and took off for a speedy 5 miles… and felt amazing.

So long story short… I did none of Hal’s recommended workouts on the recommended days. My bad. I also have zero desire to run more than 5-6 miles at a time right now.

Luckily it’s half-marathons from here on out in 2012, so the long runs can wait until January.

So my day off tomorrow will be filled with Pilates, maybe a 3-4 mile jog, lunch with my mom and brother, wrapping presents, and BAKING! Also cleaning… and while I find that enjoyable (I know) I realize no one else does, so I’ll refrain from gushing about my love of cleaning.

On the baking agenda? Something to do with cocoa roasted almonds… and another something to do with the greatest holiday treat that exists (in my very humble opinion.)

Muddy Buddies! (Recipes will follow).

My mouth is watering just thinking about this.

And with that – it’s time to prepare dinner and enjoy a relaxing night with boyfriend… have a great night!

9 thoughts on “Post Marathon Training?

  1. ohmygosh i love muddy buddies! freshman year of college, one of the guys on the 3rd floor had just received a shipment from his mom. i practically took half his muddy buddy stash (he called it “puppy chow”) and he always told me when his mom sent him more! enjoy your day off!!

  2. i’ve been meaning to try a reformer class for ages – was in LA last week and studios seemed to be everywhere, reminding me i should go to one sometime. so many people seem to love it!

    enjoy all your holiday goodies – cocoa roasted almonds?! yum.

  3. Pingback: Fitness: Update + Tips 1/6 [Hitting the Wall] | Sugar Coated Sisters

Leave a Reply

