Now What?

So, the marathon is over – now what?

A return to normalcy!

Well to start – a “relaxing” December. I use the term loosely because I still workout 6ish days a week. I love it. It makes me feel strong and fit, it clears my head after a long day at the office, and allows me a little wiggle room to indulge in all of the holiday treats and drinks on the weekends.

While at the peak of my training (and in serious running shape) I went a little nuts and registered for a few half-marathons in 2012. With more on the way.

Which means I should probably add in long runs again come the new year. And by long runs I mean 10-11 miles. You have no idea how good it feels to write that. And to know that I will have no association with the words 18 or 20 miles in the future.

Thus far, these are the 2012 contenders:

January – Pacific Coast Trail Run – 21 Km (13 Miles. Yes, I too had to Google the conversion from kilometers to miles.)

I REALLY want to do a trail race. I feel like it would be a lot of fun, and also give me a very solid excuse to buy the New Balance Minimus Trails. Plus there just so happens to be a couple of lovely Bay Area running girls running it as well! Friends + Trail Run? Sold!


via

April – US Half “The Other Half”

Not going to sugarcoat, but I’m running this for the 2nd “dual” medal, and to get my medal from November’s US Half since they forgot to order the correct ones for us then. Why run races if not for the hardware?

July – SF Marathon – 2nd Half

Back to the scene of my first half-marathon. Since I have my high-school reunion this year, I figured I may as well go all-out reunion style and get reacquainted with the half that ruined my legs for a ~month. (Not training at all may have had something to do with it.)

June – Dipsea RaceΒ 

I am DYING to run this race. When registration opens I will be obsessively at my computer downloading the application and mailing it in at that exact moment. Come to think of it, I should probably take PTO that day.

August – The Giant Race

I ran this last year, loved the course, got a high-five from Brian Wilson around Mile 5, and really, I just want another bobblehead.

October – Primos Run

Simply put, they have really good pizza. And I would imagine runners get some type of coupon or voucher to eat there at some point after the race.

November – US Half

Because why not make it a bi-yearly occurrence?

I love the half-marathon distance (it’s like a Goldilocks-esque “juuuust right” for me), and I’m excited to be able to focus on getting faster, while maintaining a consistent level of fitness needed for those types of races.

Marathon you were fun for a little while, but I think we need a break. πŸ™‚

Hope you have a great Wed-nes-day! (I can no longer type that word without saying it like that.)

19 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. ya marathons are definitely a giant pain in the ass…literally. the halfs are a good distance…definitely challenging but doesnt take up your whole day training. ahhhh dammit…as im in the middle of training for a marathon haha boo

  2. The Pacifica Race is one of my favorite PCTR races! Cool, damp sea air and a fun, strenuous climb to [occasional, depending on weather] 360 views of the green coast! The downhill is super fun, but watch out for a few damn slugs by the stream! See ya during that 2nd half of the SFM … i’ll look for you to keep my motivation up after the first half!

  3. I’m a total half lover too – although I need revenge on the marathon. I totally choked and walked too much at my first hot & humid marathon in Chicago! Looks like a good race line up. πŸ™‚

    • Oh man, running in heat is not something I can do well! I think the only reason I like San Francisco’s cold and cloudy summers is because it makes running easier! Get your marathon revenge, and then come back to the light – halves! πŸ™‚

  4. Jam-packed and SUPER FUN YEAR! I have so many halves I’m signed up for too… I don’t know about your, but I’m looking forward to the shorter “long” runs too. πŸ™‚

  5. Awesome schedule! I hiked the Dipsea trail a few years back, and man, I think anyone who runs that thing is totally hardcore. It is absolutely beautiful, though. And the race website cracks me up!

    • I’ve never done a trail run before but I really really want to! (and I really, really want those shoes! Please Santa?) It sounds so fun, and so scenic! My legs still feel so heavy from the marathon though! I think I’ll stick to the treadmill this month and start my training on New Years Day! πŸ™‚

  6. You do have to run a qualifier for Boston (I know because I checked!). I’m running a half in May and then doing the qualifier in October (It’s through my town!) in hopes of running Boston 2013 for my 30th birthday!

    I have the New Balance Minimus, btw, and I absolutely love them!

    • I THINK that the October marathon would be for Boston in 2014… I’m pretty sure that registration opens (and sells out) for 2013 in September. The marathon I ran a couple of weeks ago qualified for Boston 2013. But either way that would be awesome to qualify! Good luck! πŸ™‚ I want those shoes!

Leave a Reply

