Cold Weather = Hot Food

So the past couple of weeks or so, I’ve been on a cooking tear in the kitchen. (As opposed to cooking another room of the apartment, yes.)

I’m not much when it comes to creating recipes out of thin air (or ingredients), but darnit I can follow a recipe like you wouldn’t believe.

Whenever I’m looking for a new recipe or dinner idea, I will always check my favorite food blogs first. I want firsthand reviews, a healthy and easy recipe, and lots and lots of pictures.

It’s been really cold and chilly out lately, and we’ve been in the mood for comfort-y foods… only without all of the heaviness. We usually eat dinner late, so the last thing we want is to go to bed stuffed to the brim.

via

When the temperatures dipped into the arctic zone (low 50’s, sorry everywhere but California, we’re spoiled wimps here) it was time to take action.

I had bookmarked this delicious looking Sweet and Spicy Chili from Iowa Girl Eats (and if you don’t already follow her blog, I highly recommend you start – her recipes are easy, very healthy, and delicious, and taste amazing!)

She of course found a way to make chili (probably the ugliest food known to man) look amazing by serving it in mason jars and topping it with cornbread (best idea ever).

I served it in bowls, but don’t fret – we didn’t miss out on any of the flavor.

Just a lot all of the style.

Seriously, the girl has talent.

Sweet & Spicy Cornbread Topped Chili

Ingredients:

1/2 small onion, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1lb 90/10 ground beef

Salt and pepper

1-29oz can tomato sauce

1-15oz can black beans, drained & rinsed

1-16oz can baked Bush’s Vegetarian Baked Beans

Chili powder

Cayenne pepper

Onion powder

Garlic powder

Cumin

Brown sugar (optional)

1 recipe cornbread batter (boxed or homemade)

Directions:

1. Heat a large soup pot over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic and ground beef to the pot, season with salt & pepper, then cook, breaking up the ground beef, until no longer pink. Drain well and return to the pan.

2. Turn the heat down to medium low and add in tomato sauce, black beans and baked beans. Season with chili powder and cayenne pepper to your tastes, then add in dashes of onion powder, garlic powder and cumin. Let the chili simmer for 5-10 minutes, then taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Ladle chili into mason jars, then top with cornbread batter, leaving at least 2″ clear at the top of the jar. Bake on a cookie sheet for 17-22 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Since I was low on fresh out of Mason Jars, I let the chili simmer for a bit longer than 5-10 minutes, and it came out absolutely perfectly. (Which, if you know me, absolutely does not happen every time I set foot in a kitchen.)

My goal is not to burn your eyes with my ridiculously talented photography skills, so I’m going to spare you pictures of how my bowl of chili looked and recommend you just look at  hers instead.

I can’t recommend this recipe enough – it’s simple, it’s easy, it’s delicious, and it’s healthy! Plus it makes a LOT so you’ll have leftovers for the better part of the week. And save money. To go Christmas shopping with. Win-Win as far as I’m concerned.

via

I’ve been eating this chili for the better part of a week now and I can’t get enough. Kristin you’re a culinary genius!

5 thoughts on “Cold Weather = Hot Food

  1. I’ve seen this recipe before (I remember being wow-ed by the cornbread/jar photo) and now of course I’m craving chili. Might need to make a pit stop on the way home to pickup the ingredients!

Leave a Reply

