Sweet Butternut Squash Soup

Just in case I haven’t voiced this enough – it’s gotten incredibly cold outside. Gone is the Indian Summer I thought would last until at least December (wishful thinking), and HELLO FALL. (Also hello MARATHON. That is now 12 days away. In case I haven’t mentioned it enough either.)

I’ve taken the pea coats, boots, beloved boot socks, cashmere, scarves, tights and even a slouchy beanie or two out of the closet and they’ve started to make their way into the regular rotation.

Our warm-weather dinners just weren’t cutting it anymore either. Cold weather outside, calls for cold-weather meals inside. And lots and lots of faux fur blankets.

I’m also hoping one of these bad boys makes it into my stocking this year.

When I was at my parents house last week, my mom re-heated some of her homemade Butternut Squash soup and I instantly fell in love. (Keep in mine I’ve never gone within 5 feet of a Butternut Squash before, much less actually eaten one… to say I’m picky would be an understatement.)

I knew that with some toasted sourdough, goat cheese, and a sliced up chicken breast, boyfriend and I would have an easy, delicious and seriously comfort-foody fall dinner on our hands.

And beyond all of that it’s E-A-S-Y… even for someone who was scared to set foot in the kitchen 6 months ago. (Me.)

Sweet Butternut Squash Soup

Makes 6-10 Servings

1 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Butternut Squash peeled, seeded and cut into 2 inch chunks (approx 7 cups)

3 Medium Leeks (white and light green part only), coarsely chopped (about 1 cup)

4 cups of Chicken Broth

2 cloves garlic, chopped (I omitted this)

1 Can Organic Corn (or frozen – thawed)

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t cumin

1/2 t salt

3 tablespoons whipping cream (optional, I didn’t add)

Pepper to taste

1. Heat cooking oil in a 3-quart saucepan over medium-high heat. Add leeks and garlic. Cook, stirring frequently, until the vegetables are tender.
2. Add the squash, chicken stock, the nutmeg, cumin, salt and pepper. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer about 25 minutes or until squash is very soft.
3. Blend with an Immersion Blender (or transfer to a blender/food processor) until smooth, adding a little cooking liquid if needed to make the mixture a very smooth puree. I just stuck the Immersion Blender right in the saucepan.
4. Add the corn and if desired, 3 T of cream and stir until combined. If necessary, stir in enough of the remaining stock to make a medium-thick consistency. Adjust the seasonings and heat through. Serve hot garnished with some whipping cream and chives, if you like.
Enjoy!
So healthy, and SO EASY. The corn really gives it a nice sweetness, and the nutmeg and ginger make your entire house smell like fall. πŸ™‚ Slice up some freshly baked sourdough bread, slather on some goat cheese and you have a perfect soup dipper πŸ™‚
5 thoughts on “Sweet Butternut Squash Soup

  1. sourdough bread with melted goat cheese is the perfect accompaniment to nearly any soup! I also tend to go the silken tofu and pureed route. I just love blended soups. You get all the flavors in one creamy spoonful.

Leave a Reply

