A Very Sweet 27

Happy Friday! I don’t know about you but I for one was really looking forward to this weekend. (But honestly, when am I not?)

I wanted to thank everyone so, so, much for all of the birthday wishes! They truly made my day. 🙂

So 27 so far?

Boyfriend had to fly out-of-town for a couple of days on Tuesday on business ( 😦 ), but luckily we had both taken today off, so that we could spend it together and have a belated birthday celebration.

On the magical day of November 16, I headed out to the burbs to my parents house after work to enjoy a lovely birthday dinner with (most of) my family (little brother lives in LA) and it was wonderful!

My mom cooked up her homemade Pork Wellingtons (my request!) with a homemade Mushroom “gravy” (sautéed mushrooms, white wine, shallots and chicken broth) and made an unbelievable cheesecake (an Ellie Krieger recipe found here).

Then it was time to open some very thoughtful presents: a gorgeous bracelet and necklace handmade by a friend of my mom’s, a cashmere sweater and Frye riding boots, and a Christmas candle! (Judging by the fact that my Spiced Chestnut candle from Williams Sonoma has been burning nonstop for the last 3 weeks, and probably doesn’t have much longer… this was much appreciated.)

It’s like wearing a blanket. Between that and the boots I may never wear anything else again. Except running clothes.

via

I literally keep smelling the boots. They just smell so darn good.

Boyfriend came home last night and I was so darn excited to see him. 🙂

A couple of weeks ago (he’s savvy to the fact that I needed a month to break ’em in), he surprised me with an early birthday present of brand new waterproof and reflective Nike Frees and I couldn’t be more excited. Who knew these shoes could be so functional?

As if I needed another reason to be excited to run. I can’t wait to wear these bad boys during the marathon… in just about 15 days. Ohdeargod.

And since the only drink I’ve been ordering for the last 3 months or so (since we discovered them) are Moscow Mules, he very thoughtfully put together this amazing gift-bag for me today. It’s safe to say I squealed with delight as I opened it.

Complete with copper (!!!!!) mugs. The proper (and only) way to drink a mule in my opinion.

I think you know what I’ll be drinking tomorrow night to celebrate 😉

And yes, that puppy card was most definitely the icing on the cake.

Now it’s time for some homemade pizza, Kona Longboards, and a movie!

Have a great night! 🙂

7 thoughts on “A Very Sweet 27

  1. Awww what a nice bday! I love celebrating with my parents and getting a home cooked meal. So jealous of those Frye boots! I’ve been eyeing them for ages but the price tag is a little prohibitive for me to buy for myself…

  2. happy belated birthday!! (sorry, catching up on blogs a lil late!) … i think you should put a disclaimer at the top of your page when you post about shoes. “WARNING: this post contains amazing shoe finds, read at your own risk!” seriously those frye boots are GORGEOUS. perfect for sf!

  3. Pingback: Week 16 to 26.2 | runningonhungrydotcom

  4. Pingback: Goodbye November | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

