Dinner Party!

Happy Wednesday!

(Does anyone else say Wed-nes-day whenever they type or read Wednesday?) I actually just realized I do that as I typed out Wednesday 3 times.

I’m currently watching last night’s New Girl on-demand and laughing hysterically, by myself. I love this show.

I got about 5 minutes into Glee before I had to turn it off. I really don’t like shows where the plot veers into uncomfortable territory – like Quinn and Puck plotting to get their baby back from Shelby. I also don’t like it when they sing songs I don’t know every word too. Glee we’re on hiatus.

In mosquito news, I only woke up with one new bite (on my pinky on the knuckle… seriously?) and then at approximately 7:23 am this morning something fantastic happened.

As I was making the bed I saw the little bastard fluttering around the room planning his next attack.  I readied myself and with one final round of applause for his efforts, I clapped.

Got him.

Then I washed my hands 11 times.

Mosquito 4, Kristine 5

Game over.

**********

I’ve been feeling a little inspired in the kitchen this week, which never really happens, so when the feeling comes, I go with it.

Monday we had turkey burgers with pesto and parmesan with sweet potato fries, and last night I wanted to make a couple of recipes my mom had sent to me. And have a dinner party with Ina and Giada.

Boyfriend had a late basketball game, so in the meantime I got to work in the kitchen, with a Chopped marathon blaring in the background. I was ready.

I ended up making Ina Garten’s Easy Sole Meuniere, which took 10 minutes to prep and 10 minutes to cook.

My kind of cooking.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 fresh sole fillets, 3 to 4 ounces each
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter(I used 3 because I apparently misread the recipe)
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 6 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (3 lemons)
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley

Directions

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees F. Have 2 heat-proof dinner plates ready

 

Combine the flour, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper in a large shallow plate. Pat the sole fillets dry with paper towels and sprinkle one side with salt.

 

Heat 3 tablespoons of butter in a large (12-inch) saute pan over medium heat until it starts to brown. Dredge 2 sole fillets in the seasoned flour on both sides and place them in the hot butter. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for 2 minutes. Turn carefully with a metal spatula and cook for 2 minutes on the other side. While the second side cooks, add 1/2 teaspoon of lemon zest and 3 tablespoons of lemon juice to the pan. Carefully put the fish filets on the ovenproof plates and pour the sauce over them.

 

Keep the cooked fillets warm in the oven while you repeat the process with the remaining 2 fillets. When they’re done, add the cooked fillets to the plates in the oven. Sprinkle with the parsley, salt, and pepper and serve immediately.

As a side (that we’ll have for about 2 weeks since it made so much food), I went with Giada’s Herbed Quinoa.

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the quinoa: In a medium saucepan, add the chicken stock, lemon juice and quinoa. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to a simmer, cover the pan and cook until all the liquid is absorbed, about 12 to 15 minutes.

For the dressing: In a small bowl, mix together the olive oil, lemon juice, basil, parsley, thyme, and lemon zest. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

 

Pour the dressing over the quinoa and toss until all the ingredients are coated. Transfer the quinoa to a bowl. Season with salt and pepper, to taste, and serve.

Both were delicious and filling without being heavy. And we have plentyyyy of leftovers! 🙂

Highly recommend both of these dishes – they’re light, filling and really flavorful. And EASY. Which in my book beats out everything but delicious.

And now, it’s Modern Family time. Have a great night! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Dinner Party!

  1. I love that Giada picture you posted. It’s hilarious!!

    I started watching New Girl last weekend and thought it was so cute and funny!

    As for Glee, I haven’t watched yet this season. I’m just kind of tired of it. I totally agree too and hate when they sings songs I don’t know!

Leave a Reply

