Week 13 to 26.2

Happy Tuesday!

Today is the one year anniversary of this happening:

Yes we have multiple copies.

Today was one of those days that had me daydreaming about being on a tropical beach somewhere. Or traveling all over Europe. Keyword being vacation.

I was tired thanks to my nemesis, the mosquito, attacking me in my sleep last night, causing me to wake up about every hour in a panic that it would strike again.

I’m a sleep-completely-covered-by-the-duvet kind of sleeper (up to my neck) and the one extremity (right arm) that wasn’t covered by the blanket for an hour last night is now home to several mosquito bites. Apparently my body’s reaction to this betrayal is for them to get hugely swollen for 48 hours and then return to normal. All is not fair in love and war.

Once I got over the initial shock and outrage that the mosquito from last week is not only still living, but probably still in the apartment somewhere, I felt something on my face which I quickly swatted away.

Imagine my horror when I woke up this morning to see that the little bastard got me on my EYELID and I now have a lazy eye due to the fact that the mosquito bite decided to swell up.

I’m bathing in Cortaid.

**********

In better news, another week of training has come to an end… and included my longest run yet! (Literally, the longest run of my entire 26 years and 350 days of my life).

This week’s training schedule looked like this:

Total Miles: 43

Monday- Crosstrain

In order to not fully burn myself out with a busy workweek, busy weekend, and loooooooooooooong run on the horizon I kept my cross-training to an hour-long Pilates reformer class. An hour of strength training and stretching at the end is the perfect compliment to all of the running that’s been going in these parts lately.

Tuesday – 5 Mile Run

I worked from my parents house since I had to take my car in to get serviced so I took off around the neighborhood for a 5 mile run. I finished in about 43 minutes, and I attribute my speed to having a new route and neighborhood to run in entirely.

I guess there’s something to be said about mixing it up.

Post-Run Smoothie.

Or not.

Wednesday – 8 Mile Run

I barely even remember this run aside from the fact that I went to the gym, fired up the Kindle and read for about an hour and 10 minutes while running. After running a new route the day before, the prospect of going back to my usual route was severely unappealing. All of these “shorter” (it’s disgusting that I think 8 miles is shorter) runs get a little tedious, and I get really, really bored of my running routes, so the treadmill + reading material is the easiest way to get ’em over with.

Thursday – REST

Between a lovely little quaking of the earth at 5:36am, a packed day at work, and a team dinner directly after… there was literally zero team to squeeze in any type of run.

But plenty of time to squeeze in 3/4 of the menu at Jasper’s Corner Tap and Kitchen. And a homemade donut with espresso to dip it in. And wash it down with the most delicious Mule-esque drink I’ve ever had.

Friday – 5 Mile Pace Run

After a long day at work and a rest day the day before I was strangely really looking forward to my run. I ran the entire thing at an 8:57 pace and felt amazing. I don’t know what it is about these Friday runs, but they’re consistently my best “short” (seriously, who am I?) runs of my week.

Then I wore these all night and my feet hurt like hell.

Saturday – 5 Mile Run

Genius thought it would be a great idea to inhale a Barneys Chicken Sandwich, Sweet Potato Fries and a Hummus Plate and then go run 5 miles at the gym.

30 seconds in? Side-cramp. Is it a side cramp if it covers the vicinity of your mid-section? I slowed down to about 9:50/mile after the first 2 miles of 9:05 and huffed and puffed and cramped my way to 5 miles. As uncomfortable as it was, I was really glad to get the miles in and finish.

Then I waited behind 45 people in line at American Apparel because apparently I’m not the only one that leaves getting a Halloween costume to the last minute.

Sunday – 20 MILE RUN (yes it absolutely necessitates an underline and caps). It was a big deal.

This 20 mile run was seriously stressing me out and the distance seemed really daunting and a little horrifying.

I decided the best way to tackle the run was: to break it up mentally, and to run a different route. It seemed to work for me before.

I set off towards Golden Gate Park and had the brilliant idea to run up a very long, very steep hill for about a half-mile (Arguello through the Presidio). It dumped me out on a nice downward slope before forcing me to climb again until I got to the park. 5 Miles done.

I had plans to meet up with Alyssa, who is also running CIM and also had 20 miles on her training schedule (she also ran the FULL SF Marathon and Nike Women’s Half this summer. Hard. Core.) for some laps around Stow Lake. While running we ran into Courtney (my fellow Giant Race runner!) and a couple of their friends and it was so fun to catch up with her. Running with friends makes the time (and more importantly the miles) fly by.

Photo from Alyssa.

I can probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve been in Golden Gate Park and the number of times I’ve run in Golden Gate Park on 1 finger, so it was amazing to have a new place to run, and to run around the 1-mile loop of Stow Lake. It was gorgeous. Babies, dogs, and little kids feeding the ducks. I could have run for hours. Alyssa and I made great time, chatted and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Miles 5-15 done.

Finally I was almost done and I took off towards our apartment. 3 hours and 8 minutes later (the first 5 miles and last 5 miles I didn’t stop my watch at stop lights because I’m lazy) I had run 20 miles.

I was on top of the world. Physically and mentally, I felt amazing. Knowing I can run 20 at a pace I was proud of even with all of the hills and stop lights made me think that I can survive the marathon. Keyword: think. 🙂

Week 14 is a “step-back” week… with a 1/2 Marathon on Sunday! I have 1 more 20 miler and then it’s T-A-P-E-R time!

Bring it.

12 thoughts on “Week 13 to 26.2

  1. Great Post! I love hearing about your battles with the insect world. Keep up the amazing training, you’re almost there!! You inspire us!

  2. Congratulations! Your dedication to the training plan is very inspiring. I live in Sacramento and work at one of the host hotels for the marathon, Im so looking forward to seeing all the marathoners for CIM!

  3. Nice job!!! i havent even started training for my race yet…i really dont want to haha…you’re motivating me!! i need a running partner come out to colorado for the winter!

  4. Mosquitos are the worst. And that’s horrible having them in the house!

    You killed those 20 miles! I remember when I did my 20 miler, it was frightening especially since I had hit a mental wall at 18 a few weeks earlier. But the build up to longer and longer distances sure does help to build up your confidence. You’ll do great at the marathon!

  5. Pingback: Week 14 to 26.2 | runningonhungrydotcom

  6. Pingback: Week 16 to 26.2 | runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

