Run For a Reason

Hello hello!

It’s about that time again – we’re halfway through the week, and even closer to 2 glorious days of sleeping in and relaxing.

Today I had a dentist appointment. If you’re anything like me and have years of orthodontic work (ages 4 to 16) under your belt, you either a) rebel again any and all dental type activities or b) obsessively floss your teeth every single day because you vow to never, ever get any work done on them ever again.

Yes clearly, I’m in the latter category. And wouldn’t you know, she noticed my daily flossing habit.

I am also very happy to announce I’m now 26 years and 11 mos cavity-free. (I don’t count the one cavity on my baby tooth when I was 7… because it fell out. And I made at least $1 off of it thanks to the Tooth Fairy.)

After working from my parents house for the day, and feasting on my mom’s leftover homemade chicken enchiladas (the woman can cook better than I will ever be able to), we headed to Costco to stock up on essentials, browse things I have no use for but desperately want, and buy a new kitchen gadget.

Enter Immersion Blender.

At $29 I deemed it a total steal and I cannot wait to puree and chop my little heart out!

A professional waffle maker, Vita Mix (think of the SMOOTHIES), Juicer, Convection Oven and several hundred other “necessities” also made my mental wish list.

After working all day and getting 4 loads of laundry done (just call me the Productivity Queen) I got back home to SF to see a nice little package from St Jude Children’s Hospital.

My race top had arrived!

 

I’m running the US Half Marathon on November 6 in SF. I signed up to be a St Jude Hero, so I’m currently in the throes of fundraising for the children of the hospital before my race.

St Jude Children’s Hospital is a cause that I love and truly believe in – they are one of the world’s premier centers for the research and treatment of cancer and other catastrophic childhood diseases and St. Jude is the only pediatric cancer research center where families never pay for treatment not covered by insurance. No child is ever denied treatment because of the family’s inability to pay.

They’ve pioneered a combination of chemotherapy, radiation and surgery to treat childhood cancers and they’ve developed protocols that have helped push overall survival rates for childhood cancers from less than 20 percent when the hospital opened in 1962 to 80 percent today.

So I’m dedicating my 13.1 miles to them, and trying to raise money to (in some small way) contribute.

Rather than post the link to my fundraising page, if you’re interested in donating anything (even $1!) leave a comment and let me know and I’m happy to e-mail the link over to you so you can help out. 

I’m really looking forward to this Half Marathon. I’ve run the 12K before, but never the Half and it’s a gorgeous course.

Across this.

The bridge not the Bay. I’m not that hardcore. (Not even close.)

I’m off to finish watching Chopped then head to bed… hope you had a great night!

 

Have you ever raised money for a cause? Which cause?

Do you have an immersion blender? What’s your favorite thing to make with it?

To floss or not to floss? (Be honest!)

2 thoughts on “Run For a Reason

  1. That is such a great cause that you’re running for! What a great thing to do.

    I grew up on immersion blender soups that my mum makes, and they taste SO creamy without needing to actually add any cream, so it’s pretty awesome. Have fun with the new toy!

    And flossing…I’m a once a month flosser. Basically, I shouldn’t even bother 😉

Leave a Reply

