Halfway to Marathon Ruminations

Hello hello! Happy Wednesday! (FINALLY).

Is it just me or does this week seem seriously long to anyone else?

Adding to the long-week feeling, I got approximately 5.5 hours of sleep the last couple of nights. If you know me, you know I require at least 8 otherwise I risk falling asleep on the couch, in the car, on the bus on a stranger’s shoulder, etc.

Tired or not, I’m determined to complete all the runs on my longest mileage week (44!) yet. Even if that means 8 miles on the treadmill while reading my newest TBD Kindle book so I don’t get bored running outside before my 18-miler this weekend.

And sidebar – but for those of you that are watching Gossip Girl (I finally caught up on the past 2 weeks last night) – who else thinks there is no way that B’s bun in the oven belongs to Louis? It’s so clearly Chuck! I’m also not as opposed to Charlie as I would have thought, although I have a feeling her little charade is about to get blown wide open by Nate and the cougarific Elizabeth Hurley.

source

I’m also more than a little bit coveting every single thing Blair wore in this week’s episode.

Since I’m a little more than half-way through this thing we call First-Time Marathon Training, I thought I would share my thoughts on the training (and all that comes with it) thus far:

  • Holy time commitment. Training for a marathon is no joke. If you’re going to do it, commit to it. Rather than working out based on feel and what I’m in the mood for, I now have a set number of miles to run or workout to complete. The 5-8 miles,  I can handle time-wise. Waking up at 7 and setting aside 2-3+ hours to do long runs on the weekends? Not something I’m used to. But I’ll suck it up, get it out-of-the-way, then enjoy the rest of the weekend run-free!
You do this first… 
So you can then do this all day:
  • I drink a beer or 2 the night before my long runs. I do my long runs on weekends. I like to enjoy myself on my weekends. Ergo, a couple of beers, or a glass of wine, or a cocktail will happen the night before a long run takes place. We’re not talking shots to the face here, but a drink or 2 (followed by water).. I’m not trying to go all Kara Goucher on the marathon, but I’m also not going all Chelsea Handler on the vodka the night before a run either. Besides, Beer = Carbs = Pre/Post Run Fuel/Recovery.
  • I drink a LOT more water. I actually didn’t think it was possible since I typically fill up my Camelbak Mule water bottle about 7 times a day at work. Double that since I started running 5x/week. I have about 4 of these, but this one filters the water and makes it fun to drink.
  • I eat even more. I’m hungry pretty much 24/7 (not complaining, this is like a dream for me). There’s really not much that can be done about it. Apparently running 30-40 miles a week does this to a person. But even though I’m always hungry, it’s not like my stomach is getting bigger, so it still fits the same amount of food it did before I started all this training nonsense. You can imagine my problem here.
  • Dark Chocolate tastes even better during training. I’m pretty sure it helps with sore muscles too. I should up my intake.
  • I never thought I would love a large plastic watch so much. My Garmin pretty much changed my (running) life. I can rock out to old school Nsync, Britney and Beyonce while Garmin does all the heavy lifting. In return, I charge him to within an inch of his life afterwards.
  • I have a pre-long run ritual. I have a couple of pieces of toast with Peanut Butter, banana slices, cinnamon, honey and a cup of black coffee. That’s about as far as long-run planning goes.
  • But I cannot and will not take pictures on a run. Not only do I not have the coordination necessary to take pictures while running, but when I’m running, I’m running for me. I like to listen to my music, take in the scenery, and get lost in thought. (Which lasts about 5 miles. My thoughts can only get me so far. Then it’s up to the boybands of 1998 to do the rest.)
Those are the thoughts thus far, although I’m sure that as I get into higher and higher mileage weeks there will be plenty more thoughts… as well as some swearing, sweating, and a lot more eating.
Have a lovely night!
7 thoughts on “Halfway to Marathon Ruminations

  1. I think it is so awesome that you are sticking to your marathon training. In the back of my mind, I battle with the should I do one/shouldn’t I but I can really relate to everything you are saying about your training. The more you describe how you are feeling about it and sticking to it, the more I am contemplating signing up for one. I know when you run and blog that you do it for you, but just know that you are inspiring people like me while you are doing it! Good luck with the rest of your training…I am looking forward to seeing how it turns out for you 🙂

  2. Yes, this week is feeling super long to me too!!! Thank goodness it’s Thursday! And glad to know there is another GG fan out there! I too, think the baby is def Chucks- but I kind of am curious where they are going with this. All possibilities seem un-gossip girl-esque. So it will be interesting. And I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on marathoning! Even though I’m not a runner, I liked hearing about how it’s been for you!

  3. Ugh, Charlie annoys me SO much on Gossip Girl. I just wish Blair and Chuck would be together already–the baby is definitely not Louis’.

    I envy your ability to train for a marathon. I could never do it, especially knowing that it would be such a time commitment. You’re doing a great job so far…good luck!!

  4. What week are you on for your training? I’m training for my second half right now and this is so fun to read, as I think one day in the next year or so I’ll want to start training for my first half. I’m interested to hear about the difference between the half and the full training. I found your blog a few weeks ago when you ran the Giants half marathon through the person you got the big from (can’t remember who it is now…i read a bunch of running blogs) and I’ve been following you since then. Decided to comment on this one because I can’t recall how far along you are. 🙂

    • Hi! I’m on Week 11 of an 18 week training plan! I have three more runs of 18-20 miles then I get to taper off (which I can’t wait to do!) 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. This week does feel super long, and I’m super over it! Haha.

    Love these thoughts on training, it’s definitely a huge time commitment and a totally different approach to fitness that just doing regular workouts without a goal!

Leave a Reply

