Week 10 to 26.2

Week 10 in all of it’s running glory is o-v-e-r. This week marked the longest run to date (17 miles!) and the most mileage in a week I’ve run since starting the training plan. (It’s also the most mileage in a week I’ve ever run in one week since I typically don’t find running for almost 3 hours on a Saturday morning that enjoyable.) 😉

I’m still feeling really good and really optimistic about the marathon.Then I realized that in order to finish a marathon I still had 9 miles to run after my long run this week. So I quickly ignored that thought and just focused on the fact that I ran 17 miles in one sitting. I got a little stressed out about the long run this week, but so be it… running 17 miles isn’t really something that comes naturally!

Total Mileage: 41

In case you missed the previous recaps:

Week 9

Week 8

Week 7

Week 6


Monday-  Cross-Train

I completed 60 minutes on the elliptical (Resistance 9, Incline 20) while re-reading the 2nd book in the Hunger Games trilogy, Catching Fire on my Kindle. They’re so darn good, I decided to re-read the series… and cement how big of a nerd I am for all to see. You’d think this would bother me… it doesn’t. 🙂

This cross-train came the day after the double-wedding weekend so it was really as much of a sweat out as many “toxins” (alcohol) as you can while simultaneously training for your marathon.

source

It’s weird because that is exactly what I looked like on that gem of a machine. Louboutins > Nike Frees for cross-training.

Tuesday – 4 mile run + Pilates Reformer Class

I did the 4-miles on the treadmill because 1) it was raining and 2) I had a new issue of Us Weekly to get through. And while I definitely could have sucked it up and ran outside, my magazine would have gotten wet. And Kate Middleton does not run in the rain.

After my run, I headed to Pilates for an hour of toning and strength-training… I swear Pilates classes are the key to my (so far) injury free training… the amount of lunges and squats and core work done in that hour seriously helps my running more than I could have ever imagined.

Wednesday – 8 Mile Run

Soooo I ran the 8 miles on the treadmill (we’ve dropped the dread- for now) while reading (I know, I know) because… well I don’t really have a reason other than I wanted to get it done quickly and I figured that going to the gym after work rather than taking the bus home, changing and then running was the better bet. I ran them at right under my goal pace (low to mid-9’s) at 8:57/miles.

I probably ran them that fast because the man that smelled like he hasn’t done laundry since 2004 was dripping sweat all over the treadmill next to me and I wanted to get the hell out of there as quickly as possible.

Thursday – 4 Mile Run and Pilates

It had rained in the morning, then cleared up in the afternoon but I wasn’t taking any chances. (SF’s weather has had a serious attitude problem this week) so I basically did an exact repeat of Tuesday’s workout.

Friday – 8 Mile Pace Run

Today was supposed to be a rest day, but since I had fun plans Saturday afternoon/evening, I knew that I wouldn’t want to do anything involving running on Sunday… so I pushed Saturday’s Pace run to Friday, and Sunday’s long run to Saturday.

I ran the 8 miles on the treadmill at an 8:57 pace while reading Catching Fire (like I would abandon this until I was finished… again). It (thankfully) went by pretty quickly. I did this one on the treadmill again as well because I knew I had 17 miles to do on Saturday and I really, really, really didn’t want to get bored of my running route before this massively long route. By treadmilling all week, I figured I would welcome any outdoor route, rather than dread it. (It worked.)

Saturday – 17 Mile Long Run (Distance Record!)

I was really, really nervous for this run. I have no idea why. But I was seriously stressing out about it the night before. Saturday morning rolled around and I jumped out of bed as soon as the alarm went off (for both my run’s benefit and boyfriends because I didn’t want it to go off again and ruin his Saturday morning sleeping in) and made myself the breakfast that I eat before my long runs- black coffee and a whole wheat sandwich thin, Peanut Butter, Sliced Banana, Cinnamon/Pumpkin Pie Spice, Honey.

It works for my stomach, it gives me a ton of energy and I think it’s the perfect mixture of carbs, fat, protein and sugar.

I took off after that and tried to keep my pace around 9:30ish (when I noticed I was going to fast I honestly tried to slow it down, then I just stopped caring and went by feel). I felt great the entire run – the weather was perfect: foggy, low 60’s, ocean breeze, and the tourists were minimal at 7:30am. Everything was being all set up for the Fleet Week festivities and the city was just waking up.

I brought 2 Gu’s but ended up only eating (slurping?) one at around 7.5 miles. Maybe it was because I ate a fairly substantial meal before I headed out, or maybe it’s because I don’t particularly enjoy Gu’s but I didn’t really feel like I needed the other. I definitely plan to eat a Gu about every 5-6 miles during the marathon, but on this run, it wasn’t necessary.

After about 10 miles, I ran into a friend (hi Lauren!) who’s also training for the same marathon I am (and has run marathons before, so I have about 10,000 questions for her) and we planned a running date in the weeks to come. It must have put a pep in my step (and mind!) to see a friend because I just kept telling myself 3.5 miles out, and 3.5 miles back and you’re done. JUST DO IT. (I won’t lie to you and say that the thought of all the food I would be eating afterwards didn’t cross my mind. Because it did. A lot.)

Recycled Photo – I don’t have the coordination to run and take photos!

I finished in 2:45 and felt amazing afterwards. Better than I did after the 15-miler and the 13.1-miler last week. It was just one of those runs that make you love running.

And I still have no idea why I was freaking out about the distance.

Sunday – REST!

Boyfriend and I slept in, made delicious breakfast sandwiches for brunch and headed out to the beach to watch the air show all afternoon. It was a fantastic Sunday 🙂

Bring on Week 11!

5 thoughts on “Week 10 to 26.2

  1. Good God, you are my freaking hero. How am I going to say this properly… I miss you. Hahahaha, I said it. You are AMAZING for doing all of that! Lord, how are you walking? I love the pic of the hot chick on the elliptical.. hahahah. Someone caught you when you weren’t looking, eh? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Week 11 to 26.2 « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

