5 Things

TGIF!

In honor of it being Friday, I thought I’d share 5 of my favorite things from this week. Without further ado….

1. Cinnamon Crunch Somersaults

I am a huge fan of Somersaults. They’re delicious, they’re snacky and they’re healthy (they have more fiber than an apple and 50% more protein than almonds – and taste ridiculously good.) I love the Pacific Sea Salt and the Dutch Cocoa flavors so imagine my surprise when I popped into Peets Coffee for a latte the other morning and saw a new variety- cinnamon crunch. Once I got over the initial shock that they had failed to inform me that my FAVORITE flavor (cinnamon) was being incorporated into my FAVORITE snack, I purchased about 5 bags and devoured one with my latte. The flavor isn’t on the website yet (the horror I know) but check out your nearest Peet’s Coffee… I plan on just buying up the entire box next time.

 

2. Homemade pizza

 

 

Boyfriend and I whip up a homemade pizza at least once a week. Tonight, my parents came into SF for dinner and we made 2 – BBQ Chicken and Prosciutto/Arugula/Pesto and they were fantastic. We use the Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Pizza Dough ($1.99 – a steal if you’re like me and would rather spend money on actual clothes and running clothes) and then whatever toppings we have in the kitchen. The pizzas are filling and delicious without being overly-stuffing and the possibilities are endless.

Sidebar- The Mario Batali Cast Iron Pizza Pan has changed our lives so if you’re in the market and make pizza at least once a week… I would highly recommend. And it’s on sale!)

 

3. Nordstrom

I love Nordstrom.  I will shop there for absolutely everything I can and will always pick them over literally any other retailer. Their product selection is amazing and their customer service is unparalleled. I even worked there during my summers home from college I love that place so much.

I also love Tory Burch shoes (which is another post entirely) and live in my Sally 2 Wedges. (Seriously they go with everything, are perfect for work, they’re ridiculously comfortable, look great with skinny jeans when you’re walking to/from bar at night and I need them in black too.)

The other day I noticed that the wood in the wedge on one of them was cracked… something that shouldn’t be happening to these shoes. Feeling completely bummed out, I took them to Nordstrom (SF Center – Savvy Department, you are beyond helpful) to see if they could fix them. With literally not a question asked, they looked up my original purchase, took my shoes from me, and re-ordered a new pair for me with free shipping.

Nordstrom, I couldn’t love you more if I tried.

 

4. Benefit Watt’s Up!

I love Benefit. They make great cosmetics with cheeky and witty names (alway appreciated) and they’re a SF based company. I was in for a brow waxing before the weddings last weekend and humored the girl while she talked up their new products. (I always use the “I’m about to go workout” excuse so they leave me alone with the “Let me just try this eye shadow on you” line. Works like a charm.) She mentioned Watt’s Up. I was intrigued. Then I let her try it out on me. And it’s amazing. It’s a cream to powder finish so it’s sheer and doesn’t make you look shiny at all.

I’m sold. I’ve used it every day since.

 

5. Moneyball

 

Yes Brad Pitt stars in it (reason enough to see it as far as I’m concerned) but it’s also a true story, a baseball movie, and… the icing on the cake… based on the Oakland A’s, a team I grew up watching. Between Brad Pitt and the fact that it’s a baseball movie… there’s fun for everyone involved. (And Jonah Hill is hilarious.) Did I mention Brad Pitt stars?

**********

With that, we’re off to watch a movie and get ready for a day of Fleet Week rooftop parties tomorrow! After I run a very, very, very long distance… because I chose to. And paid to run even futher in 7 weeks. My priorities really need to be checked.

Happy Friday!

What are some of your favorite things this week?

3 thoughts on “5 Things

  1. favorite thing friday is the double scoop of pumpkin ice cream and salted caramel ice cream, topped with dark chocolate shavings and home-made whipped cream.

    what is it about fridays that make indulgent foods so much better?

    Have fun with your 17 mile run tomorrow!!!! 🙂

  2. This week, I had my birthday on Wednesday! 🙂

    yesterday, when I was babysitting, I def ate some of the kids Iced Animal Crackers! OH MY GOODNESS! YUUUUUUUUM! 🙂

Leave a Reply

