Lulu’s Lahaina Surf Club & Grill

And we’re back to the Hawaii posts! 🙂

Fresh from the airport, boyfriend and I hopped into our rented Subaru Impreza and took off towards Kapalua.

Having been awake since 4am California time, by the time it was 11am Maui time, we were beyond starving. (Although I will say that Alaska Airlines had a very impressive breakfast scramble for purchase on the plane. No seriously, it smelled so good it woke us both up from our airplane slumber.)

We were passing through Lahaina and wanted to run into the CVS to stock up on sunscreen and aloe (we burn easily, but I’m happy to report that 4 bottles of sunscreen in 12 days and we were GOLDEN BROWN with not a hint of red in sight.) If you know us, you know this is a huge deal.

While stopping off for sunscreen, we decided we needed food.

Enter LuLu’s Lahaina Surf Club and Grill.

I’ve been to a LuLu’s in both Kihei (Maui – Wailea side) and Kona (Big Island) and had good bar food. We used to go on family vacations when we wanted a “local vibe” and to not pay resort prices for food.

This LuLu’s was gorgeous, huge, brand new, and upon telling the waitress that I had been before she was a little too quick to tell me “We’re franchised, totally different ownership and menus!”

Good start if you ask me.

We toasted our vacation with a Kona Longboard and a Maui Brewing Company Bikini Blonde Ale and dove right in.

Letting our ravenous stomachs decide for us, we started with the edamame – kim chee (spicy!) style.

Ridiculously spicy and ridiculously good. And this is coming from 3 bag/week edamame eaters!

Next up? Fresh shrimp with cajun seasoning!

Probably the messiest thing I’ve ever eaten but so, so, so tasty.

For my entrée (yes, we’re still going!), I went with the seared Ahi wrap. I don’t even like raw fish (unagi, california and dragon rolls excluded).

I also wasn’t aware that seared meant raw in the middle until boyfriend (with a huge smirk on his face) pointed out to me 1/2-way through that I was indeed eating raw fish.

I will say it was delicious, so fresh, and hit the spot. I refused to get any other than fresh fish while in Hawaii. I felt like I was cheating myself if I did.

Boyfriend on the other hand loooves raw fish, so he went with the seared Ahi burger.

Overall, we had a great meal at Lulu’s and it was very reasonably priced. We sat out on the patio, enjoyed some local, ice cold beers, and delicious fresh food. I would definitely go back and definitely recommend!

Bellies full we headed off to do some exploring before check-in at the hotel.

The coastline was stunning. I could stare at this all day long.

I want to go back.

5 thoughts on “Lulu’s Lahaina Surf Club & Grill

  1. Love the pictures and the recaps! Maui is so gorgeous.

    Seared ahi is seriously one my most favorite dishes. If you liked that, you should definitely try hamachi raw. It’s the best raw fish ever. I swear you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

