Week 8 to 26.2

The highest mileage week (thus far) is completed!

I’m happy to say I’m still feeling optimistic about the marathon and the training… just exhausted from 15 miles today.

And more than in need of the recovery week that starts tomorrow. More than ready.

Monday-

This weeks cross-training? Hiking up Kilauea Volcano in Hawaii at Volcanoes National Park (Full post to come on that – a must-see in Hawaii.) Yes, it’s active. Yes there were steam vents everywhere.

No, we didn’t see any flowing lava. 😦

We did hit a dead end though.

They basically tell you – “It’s simple. You’re either going to see lava… or you’re not.”

As luck would have it, the volcano has been a-flowing since the 21st. We went on the 19th. This happened on the 23rd.

Source

Guess that means we’ll just have to go back! 😉

We hiked the Kilauea Iki trail, a 4.2 mile roundtrip hike descending 400 feet into the Kilauea Iki crater across the crater, and then back up. It was an awesome hike and so, so cool to walk across a crater that once did this:

Not a bad day of cross-training!

Tuesday- 

4 mile run on the treadmill. I started reading a Sophie Kinsella book on my Kindle… Twenties Girl.

So far it’s good… but it’s no Confessions of a Shopaholic just yet!

Source

Wednesday-

Before we left for the airport, I managed to squeeze in 7 miles at just under 9 minute miles on the treadmill while watching old episodes of Glee on my dad’s iPad… which is an absolute lifesaver on the treadmill!

I was in complete denial this entire day about leaving, and I chose to just erase it from my mind.

Thursday – 

Welcome back Pilates! I went to a reformer class and ran 4 miles… outdoors! The cold, foggy air has never felt so good.

Friday – 

On what would normally be a rest day, my legs were feeling good enough to go to another Pilates class, so I went with it! I’ve noticed that Pilates is helping my running a lot, so I figured some strength training couldn’t hurt.

Saturday –

7 Mile Pace Run. I’ve decided that my goal pace for the marathon is in the low 9’s (9:00-9:30).

I was thrilled to hear that last beep of the Garmin at mile 7 to see that I did exactly that! I was tired (and sweating bullets!) at the end, but I definitely felt I could keep up the low-mid 9:00 pace. (Not necessarily 9:00 on the dot!)


Sunday – 

The longest run (PDR!) I’ve ever run in my entire life – 15 miles.

I surprisingly felt really good the entire time! I forced myself to try to keep it to the high 9’s and low 10’s and felt great. What did not feel great was realizing the marathon will be all of that… and then 11.2 more miles. Ohdeargod.

The weather was foggy and misty – perfect running weather. I had breakfast consisting of a Whole Wheat Sandwich Thin with Maple Almond Butter, a sliced Banana and some cinnamon and a cup of black coffee before I took off … and ate a Lemon Sublime (YUM!) Gu at Mile 7.5.

When I got home I was starving, but I didn’t feel like I needed that much more fuel during the run.

In the marathon I definitely plan on Gu-ing every 5-6 miles… I think because I ate breakfast right before starting the run, I didn’t need as much fuel.

Bring on the recovery week! 🙂

Hope you all had a great week!

7 thoughts on “Week 8 to 26.2

  1. Wow, you’re doing amazingly well training for your first marathon, keep it up. I’ll be at the finish line to give you a congratulatory hug!!

  2. Active vacations are the best! I love hiking!

    Sounds like you’re doing really well with the training…just don’t think about the difference between the marathon and the distances you’re running! Not a nice thing to consider 🙂

  3. 15 miles the first time is so intense, but the sense of accomplishment is awesome. Congratulations!

    I totally know what you’re talking about when you think about the true distance of the marathon. I did a 20 miler this weekend and kept thinking that there was no way I could keep up my pace for another 6.2 miles. I have a new respect for those who do multiple marathons. Hats off!

  4. Pingback: Week 9 to 26.2 « runningonhungrydotcom

  5. Pingback: Week 10 to 26.2 « runningonhungrydotcom

  6. Pingback: Week 11 to 26.2 « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

