Exercising on Vacation – Do or Don’t?

Aloha! Hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend.

After a quick workout this morning, we’re just about ready to resume our positions on our lawn chairs for the next 10 hours or so.

Life really is rough. πŸ˜‰

I typically work out just as I would at home while on vacation. I have the time, it makes me feel good, it offsets the 10 hours of lying on my booty reading Lies That Chelsea Handlers Told Me on my Kindle and quite frankly when you’re in a bikini for the majority of the day… it just feels necessary.

Most places I’ve traveled to have great hotel gyms, included in your room rate. Some places it may be an additional fee, and other places may have smaller gyms but are located in gorgeous cities, towns, exotic destinations etc and by running or power-walking outside you really get a feel for the place you’re in and can really explore it.

 

Eden Roc Resort in Miami

Source

 

Hilton Mid-Town Manhattan (AMAZING hotel gym)

Source

Yesterday morning, boyfriend and I ran a mile on the beach… which was the HARDEST mile I think I’ve ever run. The sand was not firm, and every step felt like 20 regular steps. My achilles was killing me by the time I barely finished the first mile.

Needless to say after that I high-tailed it to the highly air conditioned gym (with a copy of People Magazine – I’m thisclose to being sick of the Kardashian wedding event) to run the other 5 miles on my training plan on the treadmill.

It made me feel great all day long, gave me energy, and totally justifies eating 2747589 packs of Dark Chocolate Covered Macadamia Nuts. (Right?) πŸ˜‰

On that note the beach bag is packed, and it’s about that time again… good thing I remembered to re-stock the macadamia nut supply.

Have a lovely Sunday!

 

Do you exercise on vacation?

8 thoughts on “Exercising on Vacation – Do or Don’t?

  1. Keep on relaxing girlie! Soak up the sun and enjoy every single minute of vacation! ….Most vacations I have been on (which let’s face it, isn’t many…) have been go-go-go and not so much relaxing so I skipped the whole workout boat… I’m such a rebel! πŸ˜‰

  2. Ooh looks lovely! Enjoy your vacation!

    I definitely work out if it’s possible. When I went to Asia in February, I ran at the hotel gym in Beijing, but not in the other Chinese towns we visited, and definitely not while I was on a boat for a week in Thailand! I pretty much took two full weeks off from running (during marathon training — the horror!) and turned out to be just fine!

  3. Hi I just found your blog yesterday πŸ™‚ I’ve just begun running a couple months ago and am keeping a new blog about it too. Would love some support and followers if you’re interested.

    I went to hawaii a few months ago, and gosh those macademia nuts are really too good.

    When I’m on vacation, I try to stay as active as possible (walking, swimming) and do a few bodyweight exercises at night, but I don’t particularly seek out exercise. Then again, if I had free access to a gym, enough free time, and no aching limbs, I would probably go!

  4. I definitely take things a lot easier on vacation and go for short runs and fit in some yoga. But usually I’m walking and off exploring somewhere which is just fab exercise anyway. It’s called a vacation for a reason so giving you body a rest is perfectly fine.

  5. honestly, only if I feel like it/have to. liiike, when I’m training for a marathon, I have to. otherwise, I only do it if I want to or if I feel like a straight up trash can and just need to sweat out the booze.

    just keepin’ it real.

Leave a Reply

