Arachnophobia

So this morning, I was going about my merry little way.

It was 7am, I had just gotten home from a glorious 5-mile run (lead legs and all) and the endorphins were flowing strong and fast.

I was in the middle of making the bed and chatting with boyfriend while he was in the other room when the unthinkable happened.

A SPIDER crawled out of the bed.

A huge (okay it was the size of a nickel), black, terribly mean looking spider.

Probably about twice this size.

I froze.

Not kidding, I was paralyzed with fear. I stared at it, it stared back at me (don’t spiders have like 10 eyes?) and I dared it to move.

The spider took that dare.

“BOYFRIEND. SPIDER. BED. NOW. HELP!”

Still frozen in place, boyfriend ran in ready to end the spiders life that had so arrogantly and carelessly trespassed into our bed, when it slipped out of sight and disappeared forever.

(I’m telling myself, repeatedly, that it has left our apartment in search of a more welcoming tenant. Just go with it.)

In a panic, I ripped the sheets off the bed and shook them out hoping the spider would come flying out. (What I planned to do if that happened wasn’t thought out.)

All day at work I imagined I would come home and the apartment would be crawling with millions of baby spiders.

Then my mom called me a wuss.

But you can bet it didnt’ stop me from getting quarters and throwing all sheets, duvets, blankets, etc into the wash tonight.

Next time spidey… I’ll be prepared with a rolled up newspaper.

Consider yourself warned.

Oh yeah, I could definitely take him.

10 thoughts on “Arachnophobia

  1. OH MY GOD. A couple months ago I posted about one time when I was laying (lying?) in bed, watching Hulu, and then a spider crawled onto my face!!!!!!! I surprisingly didn’t freak out as much as I should have and I was able to still sleep in my bed haha. I’m weird I guess

  2. Same thing happened to me the other morning with a pincher bug! Escaped and i washed my sheets but I can still feel it crawling around…its freaky! Good thing you are going to wear your spidey suit next time 🙂

  3. I would have reacted *exactly* the same way, except throw in a few shrieks…Spiders TERRIFY me more than any other living creature. When I was little, I made my parents check for spiders in and under my bed every night. I’d often lay awake thinking they were going to crawl on me in the middle of the night. And it didn’t help when I heard that we swallow them in our sleep! Eeeep!

    Have you seen the movie Arachnophobia? It’s absolutely terrifying! Haha. Not recommended, unless you don’t want to sleep for a week!

    I hope that your spider moved on to a more “accommodating” residence! Love ya, girl!

  4. Omg that’s terrifying!!! You must have been so frustrated when your bf finally came in and it was already gone! I think you are right– it probably did move on to a more welcoming apt where they pick spiders up and take them outside. (That would not be my place, so I don’t want the spider getting any ideas!) When I was a kid, I was laying in bed reading and a spider fell from the ceiling onto my face. I started screaming and refused to sleep in my bed that night. My family thought I was crazy but I’m clearly still traumatized!

Leave a Reply

