5 Thing Friday

It’s finally here. FRIDAY!

After yet another late night, glasses of wine, and lots of food the longest week of my life has come to a close.

And I have the bags under my eyes to prove it.

I cannot wait to sleep in, eat home cooked food all weekend, and just relax. (Oh and run 18 miles over the course of Saturday and Sunday.)

In honor of Friday…. 5 things I’m loving this week:

1. Lara Bars.

Source

There. I said it. I’m a convert. There are 3 flavors that I will happily snack on every. single. day.

These flavors include:

  • Ginger Snap
  • Peanut Butter and Jelly
  • Chocolate Coconut

I’ve slowly come around to the (very) short list of ingredients, and am currently on the lookout for the perfect 4th flavor to round out my weekly snacking.

2. Coffee Infused Protein Smoothies

I love smoothies for breakfast (big surprise). Boyfriend has been making protein shakes for years now and I finally jumped on board and now I’m addicted and I don’t want anything else for breakfast on weekdays.

I have also recently acquired a taste for black coffee (about a year ago it was lattes only) but I don’t like my coffee piping hot, and I have limited time in the morning.

Solution?

Mocha Protein Smoothies.

Chocolate Protein Powder, Blueberries, Spinach, packet of Starbucks Via Extra Bold Italian Roast, 1% Milk.

Blend.

Fruits, Veggies, Protein, Caffeine.

A complete breakfast indeed.

3. Ballet Flats

It’s not a big secret that I live for ballet flats. I wear them to work, I wear them out at night, I will wear them anywhere.

I love my heels, but when a lot of walking/standing/etc is going to be taking place on a given day/night, I’ve learned that I’d rather not be hunched over in pain for the sake of fashion.

(If there’s not miles of walking/standing involved, I’m all for sacrificing in the name of pretty shoes.)

4. Nike Free Runs

I love these shoes. I’ve trained for a half-marathon, run two half-marathons, and am currently training for another marathon in my beloved Frees and I will never, ever, leave them. They’re part of the “minimalist” running movement, they make your feet stronger, and they make me a very happy runner.

I have flat feet and I’m very accustomed to having foot, knee, ankle, arch, etc pain in running shoes. A few hundred miles and a 13.1 PR later and I’ve felt zero pain, and already designed my NikeID custom frees for the actual marathon. 🙂

5. Moscow Mules

My new cocktail of choice ever since we went to a restaurant in San Diego known for them. I cannot get enough. I’m currently on a quest to find the best Mule in SF (served in a copper mug of course).

  • 1/2 ounce fresh lime juice
  • 2 ounces vodka
  • 4 to 6 ounces ginger beer
What are some things you’re loving this week?

17 thoughts on “5 Thing Friday

  1. love lara bars!! chocolate coconut is soo good! im diggin that drink in the copper mug..so cute!

    im loving fiber one brownies…they’re almost like real brownies except they make me more bloated. haha

  2. Haha love the picture of Blair and Dorota! Can’t wait until GG is back!! And have you tried the chocolate chip cookie dough Lara yet?? It’s my fave!! I actually am new to flats (I live in 5 in heels) but am starting to really like them! I’ve been contemplating asking for a pair of Tory Burch for my bday! And those Moscow Mules sound delish… lemme know where you find them in the city 🙂

  3. You trained for a half in your Frees?!! That’s so good to hear considering I’m going to start upping the mileage. I wasn’t sure if I would need to buy new shoes because of the “minimalist” qualities, but I think I’m just going to stick with my Frees and see how it goes!

    – Nicole

  4. As a fellow flat-footer, I’ve been nervous to invest in Free’s because I thought they wouldn’t provide adequate support. I’m so glad to hear that’s not the case! I’m an Asics devotee, but I may have to toss my allegiance aside and go with Nikes next time. Scandalous!!

    Looove those colorful flats! And a Moscow Mule?! Never tried one! The name alone intrigues me enough. 🙂

    Happy long weekend!! ❤

Leave a Reply

