Burgers and Fries

Goood morning and Happy Tuesday!

The sun is finally shining in SF and it’s a gorgeous day. Yes, I’m stuck in the office, but I’d rather the sun shine regardless of where I am. The Gotham City-esque weather we’ve been having lately has just been depressing.

A (supposed) week of sunshine is great news in my book! (But not as great as Jennifer Garner being preggo with baby #3! Can I just say I KNEW it?!) I swear I did. I also swear I have a life.

Last night, boyfriend and I were in the mood for burgers and fries. Only we weren’t in the mood for grease, and the brick in our stomachs after consuming said burgers and fries. (You know the feeling.)

So we worked with what we had. . .

Turkey Burgers and Sweet Potato Fries!

On the new grill pan, no less.

Since there was really no rhyme or reason to what I put in the burgers, I won’t call this a recipe. I’ll just call it something really easy and healthy you can make for dinner when you’re pressed for time and don’t feel like spending 2 hours in the kitchen.

I mixed 99% Lean Ground Turkey with some breadcrumbs, dried basil, dried oregano, garlic powder, paprika, lemon pepper, and some spicy mustard. I feel like turkey can be bland so I wanted to get some flavor in there.

It made about 6 medium size burgers, so I threw them on the grill pan (nearly setting off the smoke alarm in the process – note to self, don’t spray olive oil spray on a grill pan. . . it’s nonstick already.)

While the burgers were grilling I put the sweet potato fries (frozen, TJ’s variety – c’mon it was a weeknight) on a baking sheet, sprayed them with olive oil, doused them with lemon pepper and Himalayan sea sale (thank you TJs) and threw them in to bake for 20 minutes.

They came out crispy and delicious!

 

The burgers were flavorful, perfectly cooked, and we had plenty of leftovers for lunch today!

 

 

Topped with Dubliner Cheese (our favorite!), red onion, arugula and homemade pesto spread on honey wheat sandwich thins.

 

 

A 27-minute meal. Rachel Ray, what say you?

12 thoughts on “Burgers and Fries

  1. I’m so happy for the sunshine!!! I think SF’s weather must be identical to Seaside because it’s been U-G-L-Y lately, but today is sunny! I think my boyfriend could LIVE off of turkey burgers, but he never mixes in the spices. I’ll have to give him that tip because, honestly, your turkey burgers put his to shame!

  2. Ohh this looks like such a delicious meal!!! Sometimes a burger and fries just sounds delicious… but I’m with you about not wanting to have the brick in your stomach afterwards! I’ve never tried the TJs sweet potato fries but plan on doing so soon! I’m very impressed that you made this in less than 30 minutes… I would have thought this took much longer!

  3. Totally knew Jennifer was pregnant too. I saw a picture of her with a flowy shirt but it wasn’t flowing right. I was like, I bet she’s preggers. Sure enough!

Leave a Reply

