The Bridge

This morning’s run was…. interesting to say the least.

On the training schedule was a 5 mile pace run.

It was a little difficult for me to find my “pace” because I don’t have a time goal in mind just yet for this marathon.

My comfortable pace is between 8:30-9:05/mile, so I guess that would be my “race pace”, if not slower to start out. I definitely don’t want to make the mistake of going out too fast!

 

I ran at an average 8:38 pace… and made a 5-minute pit stop once I got to the GG Bridge (more on that in a second), and forgot to stop the timer. (Actually I thought Garmin was that intelligent that it would just know when I stopped and stop the timer itself, but no such luck.)

According to my boy Hal Higdon:

Race Pace: What do I mean by “race pace?” It’s a frequently asked question, so let me explain. Race pace is the pace you plan to run in the race you’re training for. If you’re training for a 4:00 marathon, your average pace per mile is 9:09. So you would run that same pace when asked to run race pace (sometimes stated simply as “pace” on the training charts). 

Thanks pal.

But back to my pit stop.

Along the way, while dodging 100 tourists on bicycles and resisting the urge to point out to them that the solid white line with the runner painted every 25 yards means that area is not for them, I saw numerous ambulances and firetrucks passing me with sirens blaring. A triathlon was going on earlier this morning so I figured someone was hurt.

As I approached the bridge, I knew it was a different story entirely. I’ve lived in SF long enough to know what crowds of people at the base of the bridge along with the Police, Fire Department, Paramedics and Divers means.

Someone had jumped.

 

 

 

I asked a policeman what had happened and he told me that someone had seen someone jump and called them. They had just sent the divers out when I arrived and quite frankly I booked it out of there… I didn’t want to see anything!

In all of my years of living in SF and hundreds of walks, runs and bike rides to the bridge, I’ve never seen anything like this before. . . and hope to never again. Even though I know it happens at the Bridge (there’s a documentary made about it) more times than I’d care to accept. . . I’d prefer not to see any part of it!

I continued the run, happy to be running away from the bridge, stopped for some samples of Clif’s Shot energy drink (delicious!) at one of the triathlon stands for some mile-4 fuel (it was over and they had extra) and finished strong. I contemplated going longer for about 30 seconds then decided not to push it and to just stick with the plan.

I don’t want to piss off Hal, we’re getting along so well these days.

 

 

Time to get ready and head to the heat for a BBQ with boyfriend and my family.

Have a great Saturday! 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Bridge

  1. Wow, that’s crazy… I drove over the bridge to Marin today and back later but missed this. It’s really crazy to actually be faced with that reality. I feel that way whenever I run over the bridge and see the call boxes for crisis counseling. Thinking about how many people get to that point makes me really sad.

    PS unrelated–nice pace! I run 8:30s when I’m pushing it a bit and 9:00s otherwise (and 9:20s ish for recovery) so we should totally run together 🙂

  2. That’s a really sad and eerie thing to cross on a run. 😦 At least the bridge offers more beautiful moments than tragic…

    My lame-o phone app for distance tracking didn’t “pause” when I told it to, so my stats for the day say I ran for 2 hours, with an average pace of 25:05, thanks Nike+.

Leave a Reply

