5 Down, Infinity To Go

Happy Wednesday! We’re officially halfway through the work week!

My morning started off in a particularly energizing way…

Per the training plan…. a 5 mile run.

It was a beautifully foggy San Francisco morning out, the air was damp, there was a light breeze, and several runners out with their dogs (I need one). I ran by the Golden Gate Bridge and the fog was so thick you literally couldn’t even see it.

Source

My legs felt heavy at first (thank you lunges and squats last night!) but loosened up after a mile or so and overall (especially mentally!) I felt great… enough to push it hard the last mile (7:57!) and finish strong. Something I want to be able to do in the marathon.

I keep reminding myself that I’m training to race, not racing to train. I’m hoping it sticks soon.

Productive morning? Check.

I came home in need of both protein (hello smoothie you old dog!) and coffee.

Why not kill 2 birds with 1 stone?

Enter legit Blueberry Mocha Smoothie! (Apparently I think I have enough cred to use words like legit on this blog.)

  • 1 C 1% Milk
  • 1 (heaping) scoop Vanilla Elite Whey Protein Powder
  • 2 t Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • Frozen Blueberries
  • 1 packet Starbucks Via Extra Bold Instant Coffee

Yesplease.

It was chocolatey, coffee, blueberry heaven. I will be making this every day for the rest of 2011 (or until I find something else to mix instant coffee with.) I got the packet at Starbucks the other day as a sample, figuring I was never going to just pour it into a cup and stir it into water… so as I was prepping my smoothie, I eyed it in the cabinet and just went with it.

So worth it! 🙂

It was pretty too.

Obviously not high on my priority lists since my smoothies look like sludge every morning… but I’ll take it!

Off to get some work done… have a great day! 🙂

10 thoughts on “5 Down, Infinity To Go

  1. The city does look pretty when it’s like that, but I’m ready to have it be sunny and WARM! And your smoothie looks great! I’ve started putting espresso powder in all my smoothies and I love it!

  2. I like that, “I’m training to race, not racing to train” thing. I do that for 5ks, but I can’t imagine “racing” a half or full marathon.

  3. Pingback: A Moo Point « runningonhungrydotcom

Leave a Reply

