9 Before 9

Happy Thursday!

How has your morning been?

Mine looked like this:

I was out the door at 5:46am (boyfriend I promise I will stop hitting snooze so much) this morning to tackle my long run – 9 MILES –Β  of the week… and I’m shocking myself as I type this but… it. was. awesome.

 


 

I’m making an effort to actually “pace” myself on these long runs rather than sprinting out of the gates at an 8:00/mile and having zero left by mile 5. This morning I kept it on average between 8:48-9:45 the entire time (massive hill excluded) and at the end, felt amazing, and like I could have gone a bit longer.

This has neverΒ happened before.

The weather was perfect – foggy, cloudy, with the ocean breeze lightly blowing. I ran to the Golden Gate Bridge, up to the actual bridge, across the bridge and back home.

There’s definitely something about running on the bridge before the city wakes up – its beautiful, peaceful and so serene. And then Train’s “Save Me San Francisco” came on my iPod when I was about halfway across the bridge.

Does it get much better than that?

I love San Francisco.

I came home and proceeded to chug an entire blender’s worth of a protein smoothie.

 

  • Frozen blueberries
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Scoop and a half of Vanilla Elite Protein Powder
  • 1 c 1% Milk

x3. Not joking. Hit. the. spot.

Time to get some work done before taking off to a warmer destination tomorrow for the weekend! πŸ™‚

How did you start your morning today?

 

23 thoughts on “9 Before 9

  1. Wow! Congrats – nothing is better than a successful LONG run!

    I usually try to log a few miles in the morning too. But I slept in today since I was up late packing last night – I’m planning on 4 miles tomorrow morning!

    • I know! I’m trying to take it one day at a time to not freak over the looong distances.

      I didn’t on this one and felt good but I had a piece of PB toast with a banana before my 8 miler a couple weeks ago and it was perfect! I’m thinking a GU during if it’s more than 10 miles?

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Awesome run, girl!! I completely agree with you–running in the morning before everyone else is awake is so serene…and invigorating! I wish I could dash across the Golden Gate with you! I bet the scenery makes the time fly by!

    I actually had a lazy morning today, which felt good, but tomorrow I’ll be up early again!

  3. congrats on your run!!!!!! i got in 9 yesterday, as well, and had AMAZING weather! what’s even better is that my ipod died a couple days ago and i forgot to charge it, so i did the whole 9 miles sans music!!! and it didn’t suck! i was quite impressed with myself πŸ™‚ haha so i know the feeling. good work, lady! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, I would definitely not be able to do that before work. πŸ™‚ But I did run 11 miles once after I left work around three during the summer and that was crazy stupid. SO HOT!

Leave a Reply

